SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 21, 2007, 01:47 PM
North Central Positronics
badbill's Avatar
USA, GA, Centerville
Joined Dec 2002
3,323 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by soholingo
holes in the fuse, run the antenna out of the fuse. Same as with 72mhz...
Hey, you mean the FOUR antennas. Yeah, that's what I was thinking about.
When you going to come visit us again?

Bill Davenport
AMA 28141
badbill is online now Find More Posts by badbill
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 21, 2007, 01:53 PM
YardGoat lives with mama
Joined Feb 2007
3,231 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by badbill
Has anyone gone 2.4ghz with the Siren yet? I recently traded and got my Siren back , it's an awesome plane and I was missing it. I'm in the process of going to all 2.4 and want to change it over from PCM, but the carbon fuse has me a bit concerned.

Bill Davenport
AMA 28141

HEHEHE. Didnt you tell me to just range check it? J/k. I am running the smaller antenna out of the top near the rear of the wing.

I will drill 2 tiny holes and run the larger wires out of the bottom and side.
Liquidity is offline Find More Posts by Liquidity
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2007, 02:51 PM
BANNED!!!
soholingo's Avatar
Laurel, MD
Joined May 2001
12,687 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by badbill
Hey, you mean the FOUR antennas. Yeah, that's what I was thinking about.
When you going to come visit us again?

Bill Davenport
AMA 28141
No telling when I will find my way south, had a good time when I was down there.

I stuck the tiny antennas out the side of my carbon fused photon, no issues. I wouldn't trust the antenna's inside the fust.

j
soholingo is offline Find More Posts by soholingo
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2007, 07:56 PM
Registered User
panzerd18's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Dec 2005
827 Posts
Can you fit a powerful outrunner on the end of the Sirens firewall?
panzerd18 is offline Find More Posts by panzerd18
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2007, 08:08 PM
YardGoat lives with mama
Joined Feb 2007
3,231 Posts
Yes
Liquidity is offline Find More Posts by Liquidity
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2007, 05:02 AM
ROV Pilot
jijohans's Avatar
Norway
Joined May 2002
469 Posts
AXI 2826/10 or /08
jijohans is offline Find More Posts by jijohans
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2007, 03:51 AM
Registered User
Germany
Joined Jan 2007
72 Posts
But be careful, its a little tricky to route the wires very flat on the fuselage past the motor. If not, the motor scrubs the wires.

Wolfgang


Quote:
Originally Posted by jijohans
AXI 2826/10 or /08
fwolf15 is offline Find More Posts by fwolf15
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2007, 04:17 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
18,236 Posts
I used an AXI 2826-10 with Cam 14x9.5 prop in mine. GREAT climb and speed...at a cost of 50+ amps...buy hey, you only use those amps for a short period in the climb, then it's glide/dive heaven.
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 24, 2007, 05:15 PM
Registered User
panzerd18's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Dec 2005
827 Posts
How did you mount the outrunner?

Wouldn't you have to mount it in front of the firewall not behind the firewall like an inrunner?
panzerd18 is offline Find More Posts by panzerd18
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2007, 05:35 PM
YardGoat lives with mama
Joined Feb 2007
3,231 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by panzerd18
How did you mount the outrunner?

Wouldn't you have to mount it in front of the firewall not behind the firewall like an inrunner?
Yup. Mount the outrunner inside the fuse and bolt it onto the firewall. You might have to trim some of the fuse so the wires do not rub on the bell.
Liquidity is offline Find More Posts by Liquidity
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2007, 05:57 PM
Isaiah 40:31
Rare Bear's Avatar
Joined Mar 2006
1,468 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liquidity
Yup. Mount the outrunner inside the fuse and bolt it onto the firewall. You might have to trim some of the fuse so the wires do not rub on the bell.

Hey, guys - this bird looks really nice, but the price for the Kong motor w/ gearbox is just too much, so another motor option would be great if anyone knows of another that's a bit cheaper. I can get Eflite outrunner motors at a discount - anyone know what would work? What Kv would I need to look at, and would I be looking at a direct drive unit? Also, power wise would be LiPo only - think a 2100mah 20C battery would work well if I found the appropriate motor? If anyone has any ideas, let me know. Thanks!!


God bless - "Rare"
Rare Bear is offline Find More Posts by Rare Bear
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2007, 08:14 PM
Registered User
wpnguy's Avatar
lakeridge VA.
Joined Jan 2005
77 Posts
Rare,
I tried a Eflite Park 480 950KV, it will pull the plane but the climbs are not very impressive. So now I have an Eflite power 10 in the nose of mine. Pulls 37 amps with a 12x6 folder on the bench. Not alot of power in hotliner terms, but, I get unlimited vertical and impresses the onlookers. My plane came out very tail heavy, The outrunners just weren't enough weight up front and I hate to add dead weight to a plane, so I put 2 3S 2100mah packs in parallel. ( and I still needed ballast). I get lots of flight time and the packs never even get warm. The plane still thermals OK even with the weight of the extra battery
wpnguy is offline Find More Posts by wpnguy
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2007, 10:26 AM
Isaiah 40:31
Rare Bear's Avatar
Joined Mar 2006
1,468 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wpnguy
Rare,
I tried a Eflite Park 480 950KV, it will pull the plane but the climbs are not very impressive. So now I have an Eflite power 10 in the nose of mine. Pulls 37 amps with a 12x6 folder on the bench. Not alot of power in hotliner terms, but, I get unlimited vertical and impresses the onlookers. My plane came out very tail heavy, The outrunners just weren't enough weight up front and I hate to add dead weight to a plane, so I put 2 3S 2100mah packs in parallel. ( and I still needed ballast). I get lots of flight time and the packs never even get warm. The plane still thermals OK even with the weight of the extra battery
Thanks so much for the info, wpnguy - appreciate it. So, an Eflite 10 w/ (2) 2100mah batts? That sounds much more reasonable to me. As for the tail heavy aspect, is there any way to reduce this in the build phase, such as not including any ballast that may be a part of the initial build? I want to stick w/ 2100mah batts - (1, if possible) and as for a power plant, any Eflite motor isn't an issue in terms of cost - what about a 15? Let me know. Thanks!!

PS: What are your flight times like w/ the (2) 2100mah batts?


God bless - "Rare"
Rare Bear is offline Find More Posts by Rare Bear
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2007, 12:28 PM
North Central Positronics
badbill's Avatar
USA, GA, Centerville
Joined Dec 2002
3,323 Posts
I'm running a AXI 2826-10 with a 14x9.5 folder, two 2200 3s batteries in parallel. Flight times? My longest is 1.5 hours :-)

Bill Davenport
AMA 28141
badbill is online now Find More Posts by badbill
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 25, 2007, 02:15 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
18,236 Posts
1.5 hours...with no rudder...Show Off!!!
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article Great Planes Wright Flyer ARF Review Michael Heer Parkflyers 22 Feb 15, 2010 02:42 PM
Sold Great Planes Siren Hotliner ARF Steve H. Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 1 Sep 13, 2006 03:28 AM
Sold Great Planes Siren Hotliner Sailplane glide Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 6 Oct 08, 2005 01:20 AM
Sold Great Planes Siren Hotliner EP ARF 79" (NIB) trw43 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Oct 03, 2005 07:20 PM
Great planes siren?? Hotliner or warmliner? argarre Electric Sailplanes 3 Sep 01, 2004 08:16 PM