HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 21, 2005, 03:28 PM
Houston, TX
Joined May 2003
744 Posts
Be careful with the Deans micro polarized.

I fried my first lipo due to user error. I have been flying lipos for 3 years now and never had a problem. I just finished a lunchtime micro-heli flight, unplugged the battery and put the heli in the back of my car. I usually store the battery in a fireproof container, but not this time. A couple of seconds later, I saw smoke! Grabbed the heli and pulled the battery off. The connector was fried. The pin on the esc shorted between the battery's pin and socket. Melted the connector slightly and now the battery was too hot to touch. Too bad, it was an almost new Apogee 1050 3s. I let it sit for a couple of minutes but it is still hot. I thought I saw the smoke coming from the battery (tabs probably) so I think I will retire it.

Two things can be learned from this experience. Always remove the battery from the aircraft and be careful with those Deans micro polarized connectors. I think I will put the little rubber caps (screw protectors) over the battery connectors from now on. I just thought I would share this and I am happy I only lost a battery. I don't want to start a panic, just be precautious.
hybris is offline Find More Posts by hybris
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 21, 2005, 03:35 PM
Frequent Flyer
Kalamazoo, MI USA
Joined Aug 2003
2,892 Posts
Thanks for sharing that. I was not aware of the possibility. Good reason to store the batteries separate from each other too.
wattsup_kz is offline Find More Posts by wattsup_kz
Old Mar 21, 2005, 03:41 PM
Cal
San Gabriel, California
Joined Aug 2004
1,583 Posts
Wow.........Hybris, can you explain what happened again, possibly in a different way. I'd like to totally understand what happened and I'm not real clear on it. I use Micro Deans exclusivly. Thanks.......
Cal is offline Find More Posts by Cal
Old Mar 21, 2005, 03:54 PM
Houston, TX
Joined May 2003
744 Posts