SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 15, 2005, 12:23 AM
Phoenix, Arizona
Joined Apr 2004
476 Posts
Ice Charger...Detects 12.6 voltage early

I have been using my ICE Charger for a couple of months now. I am new to lipos and this weekend I had the opportunity to use an Astro 109.

I was charging my battery and it had already detected its peak voltage 12.60.
I was winding down on the current and was down to about 4amps. i was charging my 7800lipo pack at 7.8amps obviously. It was taking forever so I took it off of the ICE and put it on the Astro. The Astro detected the Voltage to be at about 12.3. It continued to charge it at 7.8 amps for anouther 2000 miliamps and it peaked the battery.

My question is why does the ICE think that the voltage is peaked halfway through the charge. It takes hours to charge a battery when it is only supposed to take 1 hour at 1C.

Has anybody else experienced this. Is there a setting I can change to make it charge faster?

I was thinking the the Astro wasn't filling up all the way and just cutting off and did a charge on the Astro and then threw it on the ICE. It was defenantly peaked.

Rich
asmokindeal is offline Find More Posts by asmokindeal
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 15, 2005, 02:33 AM
Permanently Banned
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Joined Sep 2003
8,434 Posts
If you have a hi resistance/bad conection anywhere in the charge line conecting charger and battery, it will cause the charger to think the battery voltage is higher than it actually is. This will end the charge too soon.

Check for loose/dirty conectors, bad solder joint, broken wires, too small wires, too long wires etc.

Good luck!

Larry
Larry3215 is offline Find More Posts by Larry3215
Old Mar 15, 2005, 10:02 AM
Southern Pride
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,834 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry3215