HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 14, 2005, 01:52 PM
Motorized lawn dart
United States, MS, Columbia
Joined Nov 2003
2,152 Posts
Best first time sailplane for experienced flyer

I have been flying now for 20 years, It is about time I learned to thermal and sail. I really want an electric sailplane. I dont have launching equipment, nor do I want to buy it. I have brushless motors and all kinds of Lipos that I could use to help save the weight. I just need the plane! Whats a user friendly and pretty easy to fly bird? I have a 9C radio for mixing if that helps at all. Thanks guys.. PS, who can help me find lift ? I know it sounds stupid, but does anybody in the Grenville SC or Ashville NC area fly that could teach me the ins and outs?
Mopar92 is offline Find More Posts by Mopar92
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 14, 2005, 03:05 PM
United States, AL, Madison
Joined May 2002
2,272 Posts
Here's a N.C. RC Soaring email list
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/nc-rc-soaring/

Also a club. Down East Soaring Society, Wilson, North Carolina. Some contact info on this page.
http://www.silentflight.org/Coordina...rdinators.html

Finally, a few contacts may be gleaned from this thread.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=276390
nuevo is offline Find More Posts by nuevo
Old Mar 14, 2005, 03:21 PM
Motorized lawn dart
Joined Nov 2003
2,152 Posts
Any ideas on a plane jon?
Old Mar 14, 2005, 03:49 PM
fishs eddy n.y.
Joined Apr 2003
1,969 Posts
What is your budget?

What wing span are you looking at?

I have had several E-sailplanes, from 1.8M up to 3.1M. By far the best flyer has been the 3.1 Graphite with D-box wing, a bit on the expensive side but in my opinion worth every penny.

Doug
talonxracer is offline Find More Posts by talonxracer
Old Mar 14, 2005, 03:54 PM
Motorized lawn dart
Joined Nov 2003
2,152 Posts
I was looking at this one and a few others in the electric catagory...

http://www.nesail.com/detail.php?productID=1589
Old Mar 14, 2005, 04:33 PM