SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 12, 2005, 05:50 PM
Albuquerque, NM
Joined Feb 2005
26 Posts
Small Indoor Freeflight ideas?

I'm just getting into indoor free flight. I've enjoyed it quite a bit. The one problem is that I only have access to a gym once a month. I'd like to be able to fly indoors more often. What I think I need is a small indoor plane that is not too advanced (I'm still a novice) that I can fly in a room just to give me some practice with tuning a model for the best flight. Anyone heard of a model that would meet my requirements? Something like the ready to fly Ikara Butterfly might do the trick, but I really enjoy building, so I'd prefer to find plans or a kit. Thanks in advance!
(I'm not sure if I should post this here or in the indoor and micro models forum. Since the indoor and micro models forum seems to be entirely rc, I thought I'd post here.)
Hiltz is offline Find More Posts by Hiltz
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 12, 2005, 08:15 PM
Keremeos, BC Canada
Joined Mar 2004
2,639 Posts
Yup, this the place... Check previous posts for recommendations for indoor models. Start with a Peck ROG, quick build, but many trimming lessons to learn from it.

After that, see if you can find Micro-X kits; all good fliers, some take quite a bit of time to build. Do not go for Guillows kits or Peanuts; they are not for beginners.

My opinion only; You don't say where you are from, or whether there are hobby shops/suppliers in your area...
TLyttle is offline Find More Posts by TLyttle
Old Mar 12, 2005, 08:20 PM
troy NY
Joined Feb 2003
93 Posts
Ikara sells a kit of a smaller version of the butterfly. You have to build it and it's about a 7" span. I can't recall the name, maybe "Junior". Do a google.
Let us hear about your results of your indoor flying.
Kevin
moon is offline Find More Posts by moon
Old Mar 12, 2005, 11:04 PM
Albuquerque, NM
Joined Feb 2005
26 Posts