HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 01, 2005, 05:09 PM
Registered User
millerhill's Avatar
USA, VT, Brandon
Joined Aug 2004
1,342 Posts
What size servo should I use?

I just had a servo go south on me in my eStarter. I'm thinking it was maybe too small, but I'm not sure. It was installed as a single aileron servo. I thought that perhaps it got hung up in the wiring after a nose in or something like that and stripped the gears.

Is there an easy way of figuring out how much torque you need for a particular function?

Steve
millerhill is offline Find More Posts by millerhill
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 01, 2005, 05:14 PM
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
USA, TX, Trophy Club
Joined May 2002
14,520 Posts
On an e-starter it is unlikely you used too small a servo. Gears on the small servos are tiny, and they strip fairly easliy.

You can go to this site to check, but by my guess you would need a servo with 1.6oz of torque - anything can do that!

http://www.mbone.rchomepage.com/serv...calculator.htm

Go get a new gearset replace the gears and make sure the linkage is slop free and that the ailerons work freely.

Mike
pda4you is offline Find More Posts by pda4you
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2005, 05:59 PM
Registered User
millerhill's Avatar
USA, VT, Brandon
Joined Aug 2004
1,342 Posts
Thanks for the link. Very handy. I guess I can put just about anything in there from the looks of it.

Steve
millerhill is offline Find More Posts by millerhill
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2005, 09:29 AM
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
USA, TX, Trophy Club
Joined May 2002
14,520 Posts
Yep - I remember the days of standard servos being 30in/oz of torque and we used them for everything - one on ailerons on .60 size (7-10lb) ships was fine.

Today the kit manufactures and the radio manufactures are owned by the same parents and they want a servo on every half of a surface. Not bad when the high dollar digital stuff runs $70 a pop. I have seen planes where the servo cost exceeded the airframe cost!

Mike
pda4you is offline Find More Posts by pda4you
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion taking a poll on what size servo ya'll want to use in "500" size heli geneween Electric Heli Talk 0 Mar 11, 2007 02:37 PM
Question What size servos should I use? ceejay flyer Scale Fuel Planes 1 Dec 30, 2003 06:33 PM
What size of prop should i use? kushal_22 Foamies (Kits) 1 Jun 16, 2002 03:13 PM
What flight pack should I use for the Lite Stik? xadmin Parkflyers 2 Nov 13, 2001 01:08 AM
What size prop should I use? ErnieR Foamies (Kits) 1 Sep 17, 2001 12:10 PM