HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 28, 2005, 10:27 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2004
14 Posts
can I use my Hitec CG-340 charger w/ my new 8 cell gp3000's

I can't wait to get my CG freedom 20 up and flying with my new
endoplasma set up. Also I installed tamiya connectors on the batt/esc
connection, will this affect motor performance as opposed to deans
connectors?
Nammer1 is online now Find More Posts by Nammer1
Last edited by Nammer1; Feb 28, 2005 at 10:28 PM. Reason: misspelled title
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 28, 2005, 10:44 PM
AMA 6418
New Stanton, Pa.
Joined Jan 2004
2,335 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nammer1
I can't wait to get my CG freedom 20 up and flying with my new
endoplasma set up. Also I installed tamiya connectors on the batt/esc
connection, will this affect motor performance as opposed to deans
connectors?
Nammer:

tamiya connectors will work on the first half doz. plugins, but after that!

...Keith...
Keith Wilson is offline Find More Posts by Keith Wilson
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2005, 01:31 AM
FLYER spelled I-squared-R
fliir's Avatar
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Joined Sep 2001
1,623 Posts
The -340 will work fine.

The Tamiya connectors are really toy connectors. Use deans, astroflight or anderson/sermos
fliir is offline Find More Posts by fliir
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2005, 01:43 AM
Registered User
San Carlos, California, United States
Joined May 2002
7,640 Posts
The CG-340 will have some problems charging the 3300 pack.

The max charge rate is 1.5 amps, and there's a 120 minute cutoff.

So your pack will only be about 90% charged when it cuts off.

Toshi
TMorita is offline Find More Posts by TMorita
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2005, 07:57 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2004
14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMorita
The CG-340 will have some problems charging the 3300 pack.

The max charge rate is 1.5 amps, and there's a 120 minute cutoff.

So your pack will only be about 90% charged when it cuts off.

Toshi

could I just reconnect/restart it and top it off? Sorry for the basic questions kind of a newbie w/electrics. What do you suggest for this pack?
Nammer1 is online now Find More Posts by Nammer1
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2005, 10:21 AM
Giz
Tony Rogers
Giz's Avatar
Bath, UK
Joined Sep 2003
2,194 Posts
You could, but you have to be careful. The charger has a feature which means that it will not automatically switch off in the first first six minutes of charge. This is to stop it detecting 'false' peaks. If your pack happens to get to full charge just after you reconnect it, you might overcharge it.

In practice, overcharging 3300s at 1.5 Amps (max for NiMH mode) is not likely to cause major problems (like explosions or meltdowns) but will get the pack a bit hot. Just make sure that the pack does not get too hot in the first six minutes and you should be OK.
Giz is offline Find More Posts by Giz
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Will charging sub C packs kill my Hitec CG-340 quar Batteries and Chargers 2 Mar 01, 2006 09:56 AM
Hitec cg 340 charger rspiegel Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 23, 2002 10:08 PM
Hitec CG-340 charger Steve H. Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 5 Aug 21, 2002 11:02 AM
FS NIB Hitec cg-340 charger and 2-1300 nimh 7 cell packs Etonic Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Aug 18, 2002 10:33 AM
FS: NIB Hitec CG-340 Charger twinster2 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Feb 25, 2002 09:02 PM