Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Feb 16, 2005, 03:55 PM
LJH
Moths do not fly inverted
Greenwich CT.
Joined Sep 2000
4,191 Posts
Whats the big deal about haveing Lipo cut off on your ESC?

I see this time and again about people saying that they have to have Lipo LVC on there ESC's. I have been flying E power for 6 years now and still fly lots of planes that were put together way before we had even heard of Lipo batteries for E flight and I have no issues. Just fly the plane for set amount of time that you will know is safe, then just charge the pack and see how many Mah goes back in and you can get a pretty good idea how long you can fly. I have gotten to the point that I can guesstamate within a min. of how long I can fly for.

Getting off my soap box now.

Cheers,
Jim
LJH is offline Find More Posts by LJH
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 16, 2005, 03:59 PM
Strathmore, Alberta Canada
Joined Jan 2004
848 Posts
I have a apache 2020 charger and do not know how to calculate how much I put back into a partially charged pack.. is there some way to calculate this.

I.E charging back at 750mah for 45mins or something
nickrage is offline Find More Posts by nickrage
Old Feb 16, 2005, 04:08 PM
crashin with a smile
Los Angeles Industry, California, United States
Joined Jul 2004
1,149 Posts
Well after a few $50 mistakes in your timing you will see the importance of lvc for lipos. Its not that there is timing issues it is simply that if a lipo charge reaches below 3.6 per cell the batt can go flat and render it useless. I have jump started a few that I have accidentally forgot to change lvc for but they were pretty much useless when it came to having the same punch or longevity
Just my 2 cents but don't be surprised to see many more agree with me.
sirdirk007 is offline Find More Posts by sirdirk007
Old Feb 16, 2005, 04:08 PM
LJH
Greenwich CT.
Joined Sep 2000
4,191 Posts