SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 17, 2002, 04:00 PM
Dangerous
LA
Joined Nov 2001
871 Posts
Need help setting up Hornet!

Ok, please be aware that I am setting up a used hornet that did not come with a manual. I just have bits of it and pictures from other hornets. My main issue is that the main gear sits too low and doesn't mesh with the tail pinion. Also, my swash does not sit level no matter how I adjust the servo arms(is this ok?). I have spun the rotor up to check the setup and it seems balanced and the swash turns everything fine. I'm going to post some pics for reference but my digital camera sucks. Thanks for helping a total newbie!
Spaulding is offline Find More Posts by Spaulding
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 17, 2002, 04:05 PM
Dangerous
LA
Joined Nov 2001
871 Posts
here is first pic
Old Mar 17, 2002, 04:07 PM
Dangerous
LA
Joined Nov 2001
871 Posts
another
Old Mar 17, 2002, 04:28 PM
Houston, Texas US
Joined Jan 2002
74 Posts
I am on my first micro-heli as well, I am sure you know who JohnK is, I would direct this question his way. He is what I would consider an expert on the Hornet and has helped me many times.

Good Luck
Mike G.
Mike Giles is offline Find More Posts by Mike Giles
Old Mar 17, 2002, 05:16 PM
I'd rather be flying!
SOCAL
Joined May 2001
274 Posts
it looks like you don't have a collar on the main mast?!?

that might be the problem, if not you can shave a bit off of the top of the main gear
Antyoo is offline Find More Posts by Antyoo
Old Mar 17, 2002, 05:36 PM
Always looking UP
Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Joined Nov 2000
2,361 Posts
Hornet????

I really wished it wasnt called a Hornet, that'd be like named a helicopter a 172 or an airplane a Huey!

Who thought of such a name for a copter????
FANMAN is offline Find More Posts by FANMAN
Last edited by FANMAN; Mar 17, 2002 at 05:38 PM.
Old Mar 17, 2002, 05:36 PM
Dangerous
LA
Joined Nov 2001
871 Posts