Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 08, 2005, 04:32 PM
Fly it like you stole it..
Tram's Avatar
Florence, Al
Joined Oct 2000
29,298 Posts
Hi-Speed USB Ports not going Hi-Speed?

Ok guys-

My mother board supports USB 2.0 but when I hook it to my MP3 player, I cannot get it to use the hispeed side, it's saying I do not have a Hi Speed Host Controller - I have attempted to download all the newest updates from Windows..

Anyone know what I can do?

thanks

JEff
Tram is offline Find More Posts by Tram
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2005, 05:23 PM
29 rods from you in western WI
Karl Bē's Avatar
Joined Jan 2003
4,885 Posts
Did you look for updates for your mb, not just for Windows?

My solution for a laptop that doesn't support 2.0 was a $25 slot card. Got this for quick xfer for an external HD, but it also works well for half-gig photo memory cards too.
Karl Bē is offline Find More Posts by Karl Bē
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2005, 05:49 PM
Fly it like you stole it..
Tram's Avatar
Florence, Al
Joined Oct 2000
29,298 Posts
Yeh, the updates for the MB are "download the newest service pack" from window's...

I may just snag a slot card also, but don't want to put the $$ into that when my USB's are 2.0 on my motherboard..
Tram is offline Find More Posts by Tram
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2005, 06:02 PM
LcJ
Forever TMWT Pilot #11
LcJ's Avatar
United States, LA, Monroe
Joined Mar 2003
5,483 Posts
Tram,
Did you go the the MB manufacturer's page and look for the specific updates for your MB. Many of them are updated before the MB is ever installed making this a necessary part of assembly. You install the OS and be sure it is stable, then install the MB software from the included disk. After that, you see if there are any additional updates on manufacturer's web site.

Good Luck,
LcJ
LcJ is online now Find More Posts by LcJ
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: RC Logger's Eye One Xtreme Quad
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2005, 06:02 PM
Beginners Chat Sun 7to9
marshallcowboy's Avatar
Longview
Joined Jan 2004
514 Posts
Tram , make sure your mp3 player is usb 2.0 also. if its not then the mb will default to usb1.1 to match the mp3 player. it will also default to usb 2.0 when your using a device that is usb 2.0
MC
marshallcowboy is offline Find More Posts by marshallcowboy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2005, 11:03 PM
Fly it like you stole it..
Tram's Avatar
Florence, Al
Joined Oct 2000
29,298 Posts
I like that avatar MC.. The Mp3 player is 2.0..

I've been to the MB site - it just reccomends downloading the newest updates from window's...
Tram is offline Find More Posts by Tram
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2005, 12:40 AM
Pedal Power!
lakedude's Avatar
the lake
Joined Oct 2002
1,095 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tram
I like that avatar MC.. The Mp3 player is 2.0..

I've been to the MB site - it just reccomends downloading the newest updates from window's...
What version of windows are you running? USB2 is not supported until Windows XP with service pack1. If you are running XP with sp1 or 2 it should work, if not than the update is exactly what you need.
lakedude is offline Find More Posts by lakedude
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2005, 12:46 AM
Fly it like you stole it..
Tram's Avatar
Florence, Al
Joined Oct 2000
29,298 Posts
I've got XP with Service pack 1... About to slap service pack 2 into it...
Tram is offline Find More Posts by Tram
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2005, 06:00 AM
Pedal Power!
lakedude's Avatar
the lake
Joined Oct 2002
1,095 Posts
Sp1 should do it. You might need to go to the device manager and reload the drivers for USB. It should find them automatically as part of sp1.

BTW some mainboards support usb2 only in the back. The front ports on some systems are only usb1.1.
lakedude is offline Find More Posts by lakedude
Last edited by lakedude; Feb 09, 2005 at 06:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2005, 08:42 AM
Eye Drather Beef Lying
ElectRick's Avatar
Jacksonville, FL
Joined Aug 2002
2,696 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tram
I've got XP with Service pack 1... About to slap service pack 2 into it...
Good luck with that. A wise man would make a backup of critical files before he applies SP2 to XP, because it's a bear to try to roll it back off in Recovery Console mode after a botched install. Ask how I know. I've had too many customers crying the blues after SP2 broke their systems to NOT recommend making a backup (just making a restore point won't help you if you can't get back to a desktop).

There are also many websites out there that have good info WRT considerations before you apply SP2 to XP. Worth a read.

Rick
ElectRick is offline Find More Posts by ElectRick
Last edited by ElectRick; Feb 09, 2005 at 08:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2005, 04:51 PM
Fly it like you stole it..
Tram's Avatar
Florence, Al
Joined Oct 2000
29,298 Posts
Too late Rick. We actually got back to a desk top - then my HDD failed on me.. So.. umm.. No more SP2 for me. I'm off to get a new harddrive, as I need something while maxtor replaces mine under warranty..

Oh well.. I guess it's a good thing I backed up my computer just the other day.
Tram is offline Find More Posts by Tram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Futaba S9101 Hi-speed Hi-precision BB Servos SALE ! old_dude Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Dec 06, 2006 02:22 PM
Sold Airtronics 94358Z ERG-VB Hi-Speed/Hi-Torque 200 oz/in Servo Dynomike Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Dec 16, 2005 05:16 PM
Cool Tsunnami speed controller does not give full power andywynn69 Power Systems 9 Apr 15, 2005 05:31 AM
eflite speed control brake not working nappyroots2182 Power Systems 0 Mar 19, 2005 05:06 PM
Speed 400 and prjeti am i going to need to time it? kushal_22 Foamies (Kits) 2 Apr 23, 2002 08:28 PM