SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Feb 05, 2005, 02:04 AM
OKC,OK
Joined Mar 2004
71 Posts
Dumas USCG 41' UTB

I have started the build of my 41, thought i'd document it here for all to see and critique. Feel free to chime in. I'm very new to building boats. I did build a few trainer planes back in the 80's. This will be a pool/pond boat so not sure how much detail i'll put in as kids will be playing with it as well. I'm not real sure what to look for in a "good" kit, but will say the die cut parts easily pop out of the plnaks. I did pick up a tip on the boards to hit the backsides of the die's with 80 grit paper, this will help remove them as well.
On a side note, sitting under the bench is a 1940 BB Chris Craft that was started by another builder (soon to be finished by myself), and 2 Robbe kits, the Najade and Sandiego.
cshelden is offline Find More Posts by cshelden
Last edited by cshelden; Feb 05, 2005 at 02:14 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 05, 2005, 02:13 AM
OKC,OK
Joined Mar 2004
71 Posts
In this series, I've built my building board out of partical board shelving, and have drawn a 1" square grid. One thing I'll do next time is cover my board with some form of clear coat to protect my grid lines.

So far just the parts are marked and punched and layed out dry to check fit.
Old Feb 05, 2005, 07:14 AM
Panama City, Panama
Joined Nov 2004
88 Posts
Good idea on the grid for the building board, I'd have never thought of that. On mine I covered it with wax paper, pretty much any adhesive won't stick permanently, so it stays smooth longer, and if some glue gets on it, the model isn't glued to the board. Best part, when its a little ratty, take it of and put new down. Looking forward to seeing this build. I was looking at this boat before I got the Midwest 47' (thread "Just Arrived").
Knotaddicted is offline Find More Posts by Knotaddicted
Old Feb 05, 2005, 07:29 AM
OKC,OK
Joined Mar 2004
71 Posts