Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Feb 03, 2005, 10:46 AM
Just a little more epoxy!
Southampton, UK - Birthplace Of The Spitfire
Joined Nov 2004
79 Posts
The Perfect Free Material For Mixing Epoxy On !!!

Hello everyone....

Just thought I would share my pearls of wisdom with you...

Go down to your local worktop/laminate supplier and ask for a set of laminate swatches.. These measure approx 35mm x 100mm x 1.5mm thick and come in sets of around 100 - All pretty colours. You can also get laminate swatches 150mm x 150mm. These are ideal for mixing epoxy or filler on.. They also have many other uses.

Most worktop suppliers are more than happy to give them away free of charge. Colours and ranges change every year, so most suppliers have boxes of last years colours just taking up space.

I have been using them for the last 5 years... Mix your epoxy. Apply and throw away.

Cheers
*Hurricane039* is offline Find More Posts by *Hurricane039*
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 03, 2005, 09:25 PM
Congress, AZ
Joined Sep 2001
4,847 Posts
A double layer of aluminum foil works great. Flat for small batches, make a cup for larger. If you can sneak it from the kitchen, it's "free".

Gary
GaryO is offline Find More Posts by GaryO
Old Feb 03, 2005, 09:59 PM
Southwest Missouri
Joined Oct 2002
1,354 Posts
I go into Burger King a couple times a year. Pick up a handful of the free plastic ketchup cups while having a coke or coffee. Wonderful for mixing small batchs of anything. Including epoxy or paint. Coffee stir sticks come in very handy also.
mode1 is offline Find More Posts by mode1
Old Feb 04, 2005, 12:33 AM
Ravenna,Nbraska
Joined Sep 2003
1,427 Posts
I run cardboard shipping boxes through my band saw and make 6" or so squares and store them in a box...When it comes time to mix epoxy or bondo, I grab a square and some popcicle sticks (craft sticks) and after I'm done...Throw it away..
JerryHall is offline Find More Posts by JerryHall
Old Feb 04, 2005, 08:04 AM