Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Feb 03, 2005, 08:54 AM
Hong Kong
Joined Nov 2004
32 Posts
How to make smoke ?

Hi guys and gals,

I saw some photos of model tug boats which are running with smoke coming out of the funnel. I am a newbie and I am glad if you experts would tell me how that is done. Thanks.

Regards,

Douglas
Douglas is offline Find More Posts by Douglas
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 03, 2005, 09:24 AM
full time pirate
The Great White North
Joined Jun 2004
323 Posts
check at model railroad stores. They should sell the proper equipment and oil.
pimp_squeak is offline Find More Posts by pimp_squeak
Old Feb 03, 2005, 10:58 AM
Veni, Vidi, Feci
Motor City
Joined Dec 2004
12,270 Posts
see this thread:
http://rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=272428
Pat M
patmat2350 is offline Find More Posts by patmat2350
Old Feb 03, 2005, 10:59 AM
McAlester
Joined Nov 2004
1,370 Posts
Douglas,
The quick'n'dirty explanation is that there is something in there that burns a fuel that makes smoke. From there, it gets more complicated. Most smoke generators use an electric filament in a puddle of some kind of oil that produces smoke. The filiment doesn't get hot enough to completely burn the 'oil', and the type of oil used is such that it tends to make lots of smoke anyway (sort of like leaving a pan filled with cooking oil on the stove to long/hot?). The design of the generator controls the burning, and there are a number of differnet 'styles' which produce different effects. How 'realistic' the smoke is is sort of relative. Windy days don't make for 'nice' smoke. Or another way of saying it is that the 'smoke' doesn't 'scale' very well (if that makes sense). But, when everything works 'right'... ain't it nice?
- 'Doc
LtDoc is offline Find More Posts by LtDoc
Old Feb 03, 2005, 11:10 AM
Veni, Vidi, Feci
Motor City
Joined Dec 2004
12,270 Posts