Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 01, 2005, 06:26 AM
xtc
outrageously large member
no-where near tx
Joined Feb 2004
937 Posts
a zip launch is similiar to a catapult launch,,the tow hook is near the nose so the glider goes horizontal very fast until after release at which point the glider is rotated up to burn off the excess speed

dont try this without ailerons for roll control!

xtc
xtc is offline Find More Posts by xtc
Old Feb 01, 2005, 06:53 PM
Hesparia,CA
Joined Apr 2004
414 Posts
O_O, wow. and i just made a hook for my RE handlaunch, anyone else chim in before i blow up my wing?
tsunami is offline Find More Posts by tsunami
Old Feb 01, 2005, 06:59 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,423 Posts
Be sure the cg is correct...use approx 25ft of 1/8" tubing and 200ft of line....should be fine..stretch the tubing approx 2.5x its length ... I have used the 2m upstart on my gnome... and other HLG with much succ.ess... though these have stronger wings.

Mike
Old Feb 01, 2005, 07:45 PM
Hesparia,CA
Joined Apr 2004
414 Posts
im not shure of the strength of it, it has survived many a bad v tails so far i just know when the wing and fuse were originaly biult 15 oz was competitive for javalin planes, should i not try to zip it or go ahead, its RE only
tsunami is offline Find More Posts by tsunami
Old Feb 01, 2005, 10:56 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,423 Posts
What i described was a hi-start launch... this works very well with smaller planes.
Old Feb 02, 2005, 02:42 AM
xtc
no-where near tx
Joined Feb 2004
937 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami
im not shure of the strength of it, it has survived many a bad v tails so far i just know when the wing and fuse were originaly biult 15 oz was competitive for javalin planes, should i not try to zip it or go ahead, its RE only