HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 31, 2005, 06:09 AM
Joined Jan 2005
22 Posts
Help!
How to balance Lipo cells without balancing tabs?

Hi,

I am just starting out on RC and after reading so many horror stories about Lipo packs, is regretting on my decision on jumping onto Lipo packs right away.

Anyway, since I have already bought them, now it is to find out more and make sure I handle this unstable power units properly.

Please advise.
fleek is offline Find More Posts by fleek
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 31, 2005, 06:18 AM
Joined Jan 2002
6,586 Posts
What brand are your packs?

- RD
RD Blakeslee is offline Find More Posts by RD Blakeslee
Old Jan 31, 2005, 06:37 AM
Joined Jan 2005
22 Posts
Have not received them, they are on the way. They are the ones call E-Power from China.
Old Jan 31, 2005, 06:54 AM
Milton Keynes UK
Joined May 2003
384 Posts
If they dont have tabs, the only way to balance them is to remove the covering and install your own, but this can be tricky and should not be tried if you are not competent/confident about what must be done.

Assuming the cells are all ok to start with the best way to keep them in balance is to charge at less than 1C (i.e. 0.5C or 0.7C) and do not discharge to the limit of capacity or current.

so if the pack is a 10C rated 2 cell 1200mAh : charge at about 600-800mA and discharge at no more than about 7 or 8C and dont drain every last mAh out of the pack.

All of this advise WILL NOT stop a bad pack (or even a good one) from going out of balance, but it will slow down the process.

A good check to do is to fully charge the pack and record the voltage, then let it rest for a day and re-check the voltage. There should not be a significant difference between the two levels as healthy lipos have a very low leak current. If the voltage is much lower there may be a bad cell(s) in the pack and it may need balancing or disposing of.

Stuart
stu78 is offline Find More Posts by stu78
Old Jan 31, 2005, 07:18 AM