Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jan 28, 2005, 08:39 PM
antipodean recalcitrant
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Joined Feb 2004
3,171 Posts
Multiplex 3s2p 4000 mah LiPo pack - charging/balancing?

I am new to LiPos and this is my first pack. I just went with a supplier's recommendation for a hotliner setup. I probably should have done some more research beforehand, but from what I can make out this is supposed to be a decent quality pack. It is rated at 50A discharge.

My question is whether I need to check individual cell voltage and do any 'balancing' as is recommended in certain threads on this forum? If so, this may be a problem as the battery is all sealed up in clear shrink wrap and I am unsure exactly where the cell +ve and -ve terminals are.

Does anyone else have experience with MPX LiPo packs like mine?

Another related issue is whether or not it needs to be slow charged initially. I have just discovered that the new charger I have just bought (Swallow Advance) has some limitations with LiPo charging and only puts in 1C if you want a full charge. Otherwise, you can set it to less but you have to keep restarting it. (E.g., if you set it to '400 mah' it will reportedly cut out after 400 mah has been put in, instead of charging at 0.4A until the pack is full.)

Thanks for any advice.

Anton
AntonL is offline Find More Posts by AntonL
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 28, 2005, 09:12 PM
Southern Pride
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,558 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntonL
I am new to LiPos and this is my first pack. I just went with a supplier's recommendation for a hotliner setup. I probably should have done some more research beforehand, but from what I can make out this is supposed to be a decent quality pack. It is rated at 50A discharge.