HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 24, 2005, 06:51 PM
Jason
super_nova's Avatar
United States, SC, Rock Hill
Joined Jun 2004
878 Posts
Aerofly Pro vs. Aerofly pro deluxe

Any comments on the advantages of Aerofly Pro Deluxe? I would really like to get this, but if I can get the older version for considerable cheaper then I may be tempted to jsut do that. Unless of course Deluxe has some significant improvements.

Also, will the transmitter that you can get with Pro work with the version of Deluxe that comes with no transmitter?
super_nova is offline Find More Posts by super_nova
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 24, 2005, 09:09 PM
3d and other
kevbeer's Avatar
los angeles
Joined Jan 2004
1,065 Posts
i just recieved my aerofly pro (not deluxe) in the mail today. it is great I guess, but no photorealistic scenery or reflections... i looked at deluxe version today and found its better in some ways (including the ones i just mentioned.) I wonder too if deluxe is THAT MUCH better. how does the flight physics compare between af pro and pro deluxe? from what ive seen, i think the deluxe is much better looking, but I just care about the flying. And it seems Im missing the shockflyer in my sim, thats the one i wanted to practice most. does anyone know which version or addon volume for Aerofly pro has the ikarus shock flyer?


thanks,
kevin
kevbeer is offline Find More Posts by kevbeer
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2005, 07:29 PM
Registered User
United States, LA, Baton Rouge
Joined Jan 2005
568 Posts
my friend had aerofly interface version (where you have to use your own transmitter)
he wanted to uggrade to aerofly deluxe commander version (where they give you a special controller that connects directly into the computer). However they said you can't do that, only upgrade from interface to intergface, Or commander to commander.

ANyway he just bought the full commander version.
He likes it but he sais thier is no change in the physics, they are the same, however thier are more models and the graphics look better.

Many of the old sceneries are their and have been touched up.
In the end he said this is more like an expansion pack then a new sim, because when it comes to flying (physics part) they are the same sim. He did say that the new aerofly pro deluxe probably updated the physics to accomedate new models like the harrier jet, but it didn't improve on models that were found in aerofly pro.
Alkaline is offline Find More Posts by Alkaline
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2005, 06:38 PM
Registered User
South Carolina
Joined Dec 2002
194 Posts
You can download quite a few photorealistic sceneries for AFP. I have done that and it works fine. You do have to convert all the JPG images to BMP, but is easy with any decent graphics editing program. You can also download more planes.
here is the link:

http://www.rc-sim.de/index_en.htm


Keith
ksavage68 is offline Find More Posts by ksavage68
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2005, 08:06 PM
3d and other
kevbeer's Avatar
los angeles
Joined Jan 2004
1,065 Posts
thank you very much keith!
kevbeer is offline Find More Posts by kevbeer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 06, 2005, 10:38 PM
Registered User
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS
Joined Dec 2003
67 Posts
I got the older version AFD today and It won't recognize any of my transmitters. Their site is down and it seems that tons of people have had problems. Buy another brand!
Unhappy in Chicago
LESSOR2 is offline Find More Posts by LESSOR2
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2005, 09:52 AM
slow but inefficient
Ron Williams's Avatar
Riverhead NY USA
Joined Dec 2000
3,097 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LESSOR2
I got the older version AFD today and It won't recognize any of my transmitters. Their site is down and it seems that tons of people have had problems. Buy another brand!
Unhappy in Chicago
Baloney. Read the instructions. It sounds like you haven't loaded a patch. Go to http://www.aeroflypro.com/ipw-web/bulletin/bb/index.php and see what you can find out.
Ron Williams is offline Find More Posts by Ron Williams
Last edited by Ron Williams; Feb 07, 2005 at 09:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2005, 10:25 AM
Registered User
4 stroken ron's Avatar
Grinnell Ia.
Joined Sep 2003
196 Posts
Kevbeer: I copied this at RCU for you. If you don't belong on RCU, you should join, if for no other reason than the AFP support forum. Look around through these site. There is a lot of neat stuff. Shockfliers, Mini Giles, Mini Ultimate. Mini Yak55, OMPEdgeHybird Mini. The edge is my favorite. Lots of different secenry, Even a practice field with no secenry at all. Have fun
Ron


http://www.aeroflypro.com/download

http://www.rodeo.onlinehome.de

http://www.rcsim.de

http://home.arcor.de/rainerstein/afp/afp.html

http://www.flyingbaer.de/

Something to do with modifying engine sounds:
http://rwc10.tripod.com/AeroFlySounds.htm

For lots of Warbirds:
http://members.chello.at/johanna.vlk...er/Flieger.htm

http://rwc10.tripod.com

http://home.t-online.de/home/arthur.schoenknecht/

http://www.kdkuehn.de/sim_afpd_scale.htm
4 stroken ron is offline Find More Posts by 4 stroken ron
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2005, 10:36 AM
Registered User
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS
Joined Dec 2003
67 Posts
Hey Ron,
I read the instructions, loaded the patch and did everything to the letter. Baloney my BLEEEP. It's a poorly engineered product plain and simple. Now I'm told that I need to buy an adapter cable. Based on the posts I have read most say the cable didn't work. So I'm supposed to throw more money at a dubious solution?

I think most reasonable people would agree that JR is one of the most widely used and popular transmitters on the market today. I fail to see how a software developer can design and market a product that doesn't work on JR radios with out the purchase of an additional component. At the very least they should note it on the box as a possible requirement.

Bottom line is I spent over a hundred bucks on a program that I have been working on for over three days and the only thing anyone can tell me (including the manufacturer) is that I need to spend more money to make it work. That's where the baloney is Ron
LESSOR2 is offline Find More Posts by LESSOR2
Last edited by LESSOR2; Feb 07, 2005 at 06:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2005, 11:43 PM
Registered User
Idaho, USA
Joined Nov 2004
33 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LESSOR2
<snip>

... doesn't work on JR radios

<snip>
Ah, but now the picture is much more clear. You have a JR radio. There is a known problem where the manufacturers are shipping a cable with a stero plug, and JR uses a mono plug. This is very easy to fix just by swapping two wires in the cable, if you are at all handy with a soldering iron.
snarum is offline Find More Posts by snarum
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2005, 12:42 AM
Registered User
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS
Joined Dec 2003
67 Posts
Well Snarum, Thanks for trying but I also have Futabas' and it doesn't work with them either. AeroFly is just a crummy product frought with bugs. Just look at all the posts of problems and proposed solutions, most of which don't work. AeroFly's tech support is a poor at best. I'm done. I just chalk it up to experience.
LESSOR2 is offline Find More Posts by LESSOR2
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2005, 01:08 AM
Registered User
United States, LA, Baton Rouge
Joined Jan 2005
568 Posts
I would have to say...
RCU is not a good place for simulator talk simply because the sponsors can edit/delete posts that do not like...

Thier are other things but I will not go into them.
Alkaline is offline Find More Posts by Alkaline
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2005, 08:43 AM
slow but inefficient
Ron Williams's Avatar
Riverhead NY USA
Joined Dec 2000
3,097 Posts
Lesser2 -

You didn't say anything about owning a JR in your first post, just started a rant.

Quote: "I got the older version AFD today and It won't recognize any of my transmitters. Their site is down and it seems that tons of people have had problems. Buy another brand!" Unquote.

The stuff about "tons of people" is still baloney. Have you called Ikarus/IPACS in Florida for help? You don't read that much about AFP or AFPD on the web because their owners are too busy having fun with the SIM.
Ron Williams is offline Find More Posts by Ron Williams
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2005, 07:46 PM
Registered User
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS
Joined Dec 2003
67 Posts
Hey Ron,
LESSOR2 is offline Find More Posts by LESSOR2
Last edited by LESSOR2; Feb 08, 2005 at 07:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2005, 07:47 PM
Registered User
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS
Joined Dec 2003
67 Posts
Hey Ron,
I have JRs and Futabas and none of them work with AFP. Rant? I simply expressed my dissatisfaction with an expensive/defective product. The manufacturer has informed me that I likely have a defective interface cable. As a consumer I have every right to express my dissatisfaction. Search any RC forum and you will find many post about AFD problems. And yes, I have talked to IKARUS in Florida. In fact the tech there was very candid with me about the problems AFP has. What, are you on the payroll of the AFP!? Here's one for ya. If you don't like what I have to say don't read my posts. I have a serious problem to solve and the only solution you have is more baloney and criticism of me, the end user who is struggling to make the product work! Your Nuts! Oh yeah, and your arrogant.
LESSOR2 is offline Find More Posts by LESSOR2
Last edited by LESSOR2; Feb 08, 2005 at 10:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question How do you rate AeroFly Pro Deluxe vs. reality for heli flight? Jeremy Z Electric Heli Talk 0 Nov 13, 2006 02:53 PM
aerofly pro vs aerofly pro deluxe what is the difference pval3 Simulators 6 Jul 08, 2005 11:06 PM
Aerofly Pro Deluxe 3D Video rajul Simulators 12 Dec 15, 2004 03:24 PM
Where can I find Aerofly Pro Deluxe IN STOCK? Jason M Simulators 5 Dec 15, 2004 10:57 AM
Reflex XTR vs Aerofly Pro - opinions? microflite Simulators 2 Nov 02, 2004 01:10 AM