SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jan 16, 2005, 02:49 PM
Who Says Penguins Can't Fly?
Bay Area, California
Joined Jan 2003
2,713 Posts
My Thoughts on Fixed Pitch Blade Fixing (aka The Dreaded Wobble)

Hello everybody.
First I would like to say that I am very new with RC helis.
Second, I own a 100% stock aerohawk (new lipo is on the way though)
Third, I read the entire thread "Fixed Pitch Blade Fix..." and have my own solution which has worked better for me. It seems simpler and easer and perhaps is even safer.

The problem (as far as I understand it): In Fixed Pitch (FP) Helis, you cannot variate the AoA and thus the blades are set at a high angle. This results in very low headspeeds. When you combine this fact with the very low weight of the stock Aerohawk blades (which are very similar to the piccolo, and others I believe), you end up with blades that dont have enough centrifugal force to stay pointed outwards from the mast. Rather, they lag behind where they "should be". I think when the blades do this, they are called retreating (not sure).
In either case, this causes an incredibly unstable helicopter that vibrates very much, which we call the "Dreaded Wobble" (term copyright by G109 ).
All you have to do to fix this wobble is advance the blades forward of where they spin now. There are different ways of accomplishing this, such as...using rubber bands (but nobody likes to trust a heli with 'bands), using G109's awesome idea to use metal springs, or you can tighten the bolts. All of them work in theory.