Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 14, 2005, 08:07 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2004
480 Posts
no need for rudder on e-starter?

I have an e-starter and i set it up with out the rudder i think it will fly fine but have anyone out there set the estarter up without the rudder? I didnt use the landing gear so i have no need for a rudder the A/e/t set up seems fine for me.What do u guys think??

Paul
paul747 is offline Find More Posts by paul747
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 14, 2005, 09:19 PM
pfm
Patrick Mahoney
Fort Collins, CO
Joined Sep 2002
1,070 Posts
No, you don't need the rudder on an E-Starter. Sounds good to me.
pfm is offline Find More Posts by pfm
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2005, 09:27 PM
"Walk of shame" Master!!!
NoM'rcrashPlease's Avatar
West Chicago Il
Joined Jul 2004
538 Posts
I gree and so does E-zone! on this review.........A/E/T E-starter review
NoM'rcrashPlease is offline Find More Posts by NoM'rcrashPlease
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2005, 09:27 PM
don't think.. just fly!!!
Littleton, Colorado
Joined Apr 2004
554 Posts
yeah, i think it good... i don't use rudder in my flying anyway

ps what is the purpose of the rudder anyway?
xoon is offline Find More Posts by xoon
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2005, 10:06 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2004
480 Posts
LOL for rollin take offs and if u want to do some types of aerobatics u may need the rudder,or u can use the rudder trim to keep the plane in line.
paul747 is offline Find More Posts by paul747
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2005, 10:10 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2004
480 Posts
Thats good i can cut at least an ounce for an all up weight of about 10 to 11 ounce with my lipo batts without the rudder and the stuff to make it work
paul747 is offline Find More Posts by paul747
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2005, 08:23 AM
Registered User
perttime's Avatar
Tampere, Finland
Joined Nov 2004
4,177 Posts
Mine is without rudder/landing gear too. It is my first plane and very easy to fly IMO.
I put some clear packing tape on fuselage bottom and leading edges for protection.

Rudder would help with aerobatics but my Formosa is better with that anyway (I had my first successful flight with Formosa half an hour ago. The previous two suffered from brain fades)

PM
perttime is offline Find More Posts by perttime
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2005, 08:31 AM
Captain Carnage says......
AirWarriorBelgy's Avatar
Seminole (St Pete.), Florida/ Seminole Crash Fest
Joined Jun 2002
5,329 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xoon

ps what is the purpose of the rudder anyway?
Coordinated turns

if rudders were truly not needed, why would full size aircraft have them? Its not just for ground control

rudder is used far more than most folks think.

Chuck
AirWarriorBelgy is offline Find More Posts by AirWarriorBelgy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2005, 09:28 AM
park city
Joined Jul 2004
909 Posts
Yes cordinated turns!!. Your rudder is your YAW AXIS. I have soled a 172 and also fly experimentals....Take an introductry lesson at your local airport. You will learn so much more about flight, and understand your models so much more. I use the rudder all the time on my rc planes. I constantly correct adverse yaw that your ailerons give you. Or if the strip is to short or I'm too high and have to set my plane down I will slip it with the rudder and ailerons. I use the rudder for aerobatics!!! Put the rudder on, you will want it later..................
taildragger21 is offline Find More Posts by taildragger21
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2005, 09:38 AM
Registered User
sa-10's Avatar
United States, GA, Kennesaw
Joined Jul 2002
524 Posts
Why a trainer without a rudder?
sa-10 is offline Find More Posts by sa-10
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2005, 09:41 AM
ODB VI September 2014
1987tc's Avatar
United States, OK, Weleetka
Joined Dec 2000
8,510 Posts
I also have managed to land a plane when I lost aileron function. Wasn't easy or pretty. But MUCH prettier then a crash!
1987tc is offline Find More Posts by 1987tc
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 15, 2005, 09:46 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2004
480 Posts
For one i want to save weight,why the hell do i want to add almost an ounce of weight when i dont need it,anyways i am not at the stick of an f-4 its JUST AN RC PLANE!! this is just a hobby my Friend try not to think to much into it.
paul747 is offline Find More Posts by paul747
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2005, 09:52 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2004
776 Posts
I would go with rudder and ailerons on the ES if for no other reason than to have a steerable tailwheel. But the other reason is so that you can start learning to make coordinated turns using both aileron and rudder together. The ES is a trainer - might as well use it to it's full potential.

The extra weight of one servo is insignificant on this airplane.
WolfeWind is offline Find More Posts by WolfeWind
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2005, 10:02 AM
My Bulldog is my copilot ..
TheLost's Avatar
Joined Feb 2004
2,263 Posts
On the E-Starter the extra weight is nothing... But there are some cool tricks that require a rudder.

I'd spend the extra $14 and put in that extra servo... JMHO.

~brian
TheLost is offline Find More Posts by TheLost
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2005, 10:04 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2004
480 Posts
I have trained on a nitro 4 channel plane,i mostly fly nitro i just want a small ep plane to fly in small areas but i also want something with A/E/T.
paul747 is offline Find More Posts by paul747
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aileron/Rudder mixing on e-starter? ch2s Parkflyers 12 May 18, 2004 03:00 PM
Need help on E-Starter Aileron VR6 Parkflyers 4 Aug 13, 2003 01:03 PM
Size for battery compartment on E-starter? E-Minn Parkflyers 7 Mar 04, 2003 12:31 PM
No need for Housefly Bug Spray johntbyrne Electric Heli Talk 8 Jan 31, 2002 10:07 PM
Thanks for help on E-LMH! JBowling Electric Heli Talk 8 Dec 04, 2001 08:33 AM