SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jan 14, 2005, 12:04 PM
Aspiring novice...
North Central Oro Valley
Joined Dec 2004
143 Posts
XRB SR Lama mini-review by total novice pilot...

YoooHooo! My XRB SR Lama arrived last night. I carefully unpacked the very well made and well packed box, began charging the battery and assembling the XRB (landing gear struts, training gear etc.) I dabbed a touch of Krazy Glue on the bottom of the rear struts to hold them in place as they seemed a bit loose to me. I also removed both sets of blades and balanced them on the included balancer (I've never balanced a blade before or even seen anyone else balance them so I had to take it slow to understand the procedure). I don't think I got the first set properly balanced although they were probably reasonably close.

I set the heli on my kitchen floor (after the kids were in bed) and proceeded to apply small amounts of power with the training gear attached. If I had this to do over, I think I would probably want to conduct this test without the training gear because the rubber grommets holding the training gear on somewhat defeated my rudder spin test I think, but I was too inexperienced to realize it at the time.

By the time the first few spin ups were done, without really lifting
off the floor, I thought the whole thing was way out of whack so I began making what I thought were modest adjustments to the Tx trims. Now I know that this heli was (and still is) almost perfectly
adjusted out of the box and flies quite well with the Tx trims adjusted barely off their centers.
My advice to any new owners is, adjust the Tx trims only one single tiny notch at a time.

After a few lift offs of a few inches on the kitchen floor I though I could fly the thing if I had more room so I re-located to our family room. I lifted off a couple of times a foot or two off the carpet before I crashed and broke a blade.