HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 30, 2013, 12:38 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
12 Posts
This is excellent, ive got 2 axi goldline motors running on 12 amp speed controllers that have 20awg wires on them, so should i get the same to connect to the battery which is a 3s 20 battery? My reasoning is that the 20c is split between the two motors which shouldnt draw more the 10amps according to the manual. Any oppinions would be great before i order so 20awg.
beaujack is offline Find More Posts by beaujack
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 31, 2013, 06:26 AM
Joined Jan 2004
2,479 Posts
Here is the chart with all the information you need. These are the specifications of the wire that we supply our customers, both RC and commercial.

A few items to note:

a). Most times when customers buy wire, the supplier does not list the strand count. This is important to the amount of amps that can be drawn as well as the flexibility of the wire. The chart shows the strand count for .08 and .06 wire.

b). The chart is based off of tinned copper wire. Cheap wire is not made from copper, but rather brass or aluminum. Again the consumer would not know this information as the supplier does not reveal this.

c). Voltage is not relevant for our use in RC as the wire is designed nominal voltage of 600V and tested at 2000V.

d). Limitation in amp draw of the wire does not account for any limitations on the attached connector. As an example, 20 AWG wire is good for up to almost 9 amps, but the JST/BEC connector is limited to 5-6 amps.
RC Accessory is offline Find More Posts by RC Accessory
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 09:06 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
12 Posts
Cool, so pure copper with silicone shroud resistant to 200 degrees C would take more amps than tinned copper? I've had a look again at the motor manuals which has a maximum current draw of 8 amps each (two motors), plus the micro servo's I have, should be alright. on the turnigy 850mah 2 cell 25-35c they use 20awg, cable length of the entire setup is a factor, shorter the better, but don't chop the motor wires!
beaujack is offline Find More Posts by beaujack
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 01, 2014, 11:13 PM
Registered User
Yash....'s Avatar
India, DL, New Delhi
Joined Jul 2013
65 Posts
Hello guys i am using two esc 60a each for edf which will draw 45 amps each with one battery 2200mah 4s 35-75c is 14 awg enough or any other gauge will be required

Regards
Yash
Yash.... is offline Find More Posts by Yash....
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2014, 06:53 PM
Registered User
Australia, VIC, Melbourne
Joined Feb 2010
1,779 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yash.... View Post
Hello guys i am using two esc 60a each for edf which will draw 45 amps each with one battery 2200mah 4s 35-75c is 14 awg enough or any other gauge will be required

Regards
Yash
You might want to re-think the battery if you actually will be drawing 90A from it, a 35C 2.2Ah pack is only rated for 77A and if that is a turnighy nano-tech even the base rating is rather overstated.

14AWG is not enough if that load is going to last any significant length of time, 10 would probably be better if that 90A is for more than a few seconds at a time IMO.
desertstalker is online now Find More Posts by desertstalker
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2014, 11:35 PM
Registered User
Yash....'s Avatar
India, DL, New Delhi
Joined Jul 2013
65 Posts
Thank you for the suggestion
But sir i haven't ordered yet and should i order turnigy nano tech 2200 45-90c as before i was ordering 35-70c nanotech and esc to battery length will approx 100mm max for each esc so on this basis recommend me the wire gauge

Regards
Yash
Yash.... is offline Find More Posts by Yash....
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 02, 2014, 11:05 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2014
5 Posts
http://www.solar-wind.co.uk/cable-sizing-DC-cables.html
kianoush is offline Find More Posts by kianoush
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 02, 2014, 12:46 PM
Registered User
WimH's Avatar
Belgium, Flemish Region, Oosterzele
Joined Dec 2001
5,479 Posts
amps versus weight in a flying model :
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...62&postcount=5
WimH is offline Find More Posts by WimH
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: That elusive thermal...
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 02, 2014, 02:45 PM
Registered User
Georgia
Joined Jun 2007
667 Posts
Besides the usual considerations for wire size, as mentioned above.
High currents induce IR drop in the wires. So, even if the wires don't overheat, a smaller than ideal
wire size can reduce the power available to an electric motor or even servos.
Just saying!
chuck75 is online now Find More Posts by chuck75
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire gauge amps PenguinWaddle GWS (Grand Wing Servo) 16 Oct 02, 2014 11:04 AM
Question DIY CDrom motor WOT current versus wire gauge kinsa_manka Power Systems 4 Jun 16, 2005 06:17 AM
What gauge wire for 15 Amps continuous... ajm201 Power Systems 5 May 03, 2005 09:59 PM
Question Wire Gauge and Amps Question Lobo Power Systems 9 Feb 05, 2004 08:30 PM
Wire gauge??? planecrash Electric Plane Talk 3 May 09, 2001 04:35 PM