HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 05, 2005, 07:02 AM
Austria / Klagenfurt
Joined Oct 2000
148 Posts
Review my assumptions about brushless motors

Hello!

I'm a beginner to RC-flying and total newbie to brushless motors. I've done some reading and came to the following assumptions, please correct them if they are wrong.

1) The ampere which a brushless motor needs depends on two factors, the propeller and the number of windings.

2) The bigger the propeller, the more ampere are needed to turn it at the RPM which the motor would like to turn it.

3) More windings mean that the current takes longer to flow through the windings, the poles change slower and thus we get less RPM

4) Thicker windings mean that the more ampere can flow through the windings at the same time. So if you want to turn your motor fast (low number of turns) and/or with a big propeller, then you need sufficiently thick windings in order to withstand the needed current flow.

Additionally I also have a question. I'm considering whether to get a Phoenix 10 or Phoenix 25 from gobrushless.com with my kit. Given the above assumptions (and given that they are not completely wrong) I can calculate the current needed by my motor/propeller configuration. But what about the blocking current (i.e. the current which flows when my propeller gets stuck due to a crash or something). Is there a way to calculate this?

Many thanks and sorry for the lengthy post,
Michael
Daneel is offline Find More Posts by Daneel
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 05, 2005, 07:35 AM
Crash Master
Indianapolis, IN
Joined Sep 2001
16,632 Posts
Your summary is close enough to the theory to work