SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jan 04, 2005, 11:17 PM
Joined Jan 2005
21 Posts
Dumas Chris Craft Runabout

I received the Dumas Chris Craft Runabout Model 1230 for Xmas from my wife.

I'm still pretty new to boat modeling, so as could be expected I'm a little nervous jumping in full tilt into such a model. My last model was Constructo's Blue Nose.

I have a couple of questions that I'm hoping someone can help me answer:

1. Is there a book, magazine or website (other than this site) that I should read to get add'l tips about building such a model.

2. Has anyone built this model, if so do you have any general hints or suggestions?

3. Specifically, other than an exacto knife set and a dremel tool what tools should I invest in? Do these kits need a plank bender? How about airbrush set for the finishes and paint?

I'm clueless when it comes to 'finishing' the boat, and thus will probably be posting a lot of questions about the finishing steps (what do people use, where do they get it...).

Thanks in advance. Hopefully this will be the first of many posts for me!!
chi_buck is offline Find More Posts by chi_buck
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 05, 2005, 05:10 AM
Grafton, Ohio
Joined Sep 2003
760 Posts