HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 04, 2005, 11:37 AM
Savannah, Ga
Joined Apr 2002
130 Posts
What happens when a Lipo hits the esc low voltage cutoff?

I am new to lipos and recently aquired some polyquest 3s 2100 batteries. I have been flying them but have never hit the programmed low voltage cutoff in my CC-25 and have been very careful not to. However, I have triggered the low voltage cutoff when using Nmhi and Nicads and what I find is that if I immediately kill the throttle and wait a few seconds the battery will recover somewhat which can give me some limited throttle for landing. Do lipos react with a limited recovery in the same way? Or is it dead stick every time you hit the low voltage cut off with a lipo.

Thank you for reading.
Rackey is offline Find More Posts by Rackey
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 04, 2005, 11:44 AM
one game away...
Willoughby, Ohio
Joined Apr 2004
3,891 Posts
You'll get the same effect. When the esc cuts out, the pack voltage will rebound. However, unlike nimh and nicd, if you keep doing it, you may damage the pack. I would recommend powering back up ONLY to bring it in for a landing. There's no reason to push it, you'll just damage the pack and possibly have a "hot" situation on your hands.

matt
PerfectStranger is offline Find More Posts by PerfectStranger
Old Jan 04, 2005, 02:44 PM
closed
Gilbert AZ
Joined Jun 2001
9,323 Posts
Ditto of What Matt Said.

Also I recommend Soft Cut off instead of Hard Cut off. With Soft the RPM Starts to surge and sage but you have enough power to bring her in and land. With Hard Cut Off your power is lost to the motor and you might be force to do a dead stick landing if your flying to low and not have enough time to regain power and land.

David
fly4fun is offline Find More Posts by fly4fun
Old Jan 04, 2005, 04:37 PM
Savannah, Ga
Joined Apr 2002
130 Posts
Thank you for your advice and swift replies.
Old Jan 04, 2005, 06:23 PM
Right Honorable Member