Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio

GWS Beaver

As with its very popular sibling, the GWS Tiger Moth, the GWS Beaver brings another aviation classic to a small park or field near you. As with the Tiger Moth, the Beaver can take off and fly in a relatively small area, and reward a modeler with a nice long relaxing flight.

Splash
Specifications
  • Wingspan: 39.8 in.
  • Wing area: 263 sq. in.
  • Length: 27.4 in.
  • Weight: 12.35 oz.
  • Wing Loading: 5.64 oz/sq. ft.
  • Receiver: GWS GWR-4N
  • Servos: 2 GWS mini std
  • Motor: EPS-300C
  • Speed Controller: GWS ICS 100
  • Battery: GWS 7.2/600mAh NiCad
  • Propeller: GWS 10" x 8"
  • Manufacturer: Grand Wing Servo Tech Ltd. (GWS)
  • Available from: Horizon Hobby

Introduction

I am a long time glider pilot, and in recent years, I have expanded my interests to include a number of electric planes and gliders. My interests are broad and include speedy planes like my Twinjet and ProJeti, and slow planes like the Lite Stick and GWS Tiger Moth. In fact, the Tiger Moth is one of my favorites, so when I was asked if I would like to review the Beaver, I quickly said yes. For those who cannot wait to get the flying report, let me tell you it takes off in limited space. Additionally, when set up properly, it handles very nicely, but it is no Tiger Moth, so I caution you not to try to fly it too fast. However, I am getting ahead of myself.

Contents