HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 23, 2005, 03:23 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2004
352 Posts
thats the issue im talking about......

back with the cg, as far as possible, then youll get the sensitivity with flaps down for landing......

thats the way i did on my both voodoos
f5b@wannabe is offline Find More Posts by f5b@wannabe
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 25, 2005, 04:48 PM
Ain't Dutch? Ain't Mutch!
Kimble_Schmitz's Avatar
Southampton, UK
Joined Oct 2001
3,384 Posts
First test with the HET-RC 3W motor is complete!

Setup it 5,5x4,3'' Graupner CAM Speed Prop and CC Phoenix 45 controller.

On a NEW fresh pack of 2S Thunder Power 2100 Gen 2 it draws ~24 amps static. Dropping to ~20 amps after a while.

Only thing that gets hot is the motor and I will add a NACA duct to cool the motor.

This setup will rock!
Kimble_Schmitz is offline Find More Posts by Kimble_Schmitz
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2005, 06:14 AM
Registered User
Mavrik's Avatar
Sydney Australia
Joined May 2005
869 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kimble_Schmitz
First test with the HET-RC 3W motor is complete!

Setup it 5,5x4,3'' Graupner CAM Speed Prop and CC Phoenix 45 controller.

On a NEW fresh pack of 2S Thunder Power 2100 Gen 2 it draws ~24 amps static. Dropping to ~20 amps after a while.

Only thing that gets hot is the motor and I will add a NACA duct to cool the motor.

This setup will rock!
I flew my Voodoo again today 10th flight and I love it. When is your maiden ??

Draws 30 amps static 3s 1500 ma 20c lipo ! mega 16/15/3 apc 4.7x4.25

Mav
Mavrik is offline Find More Posts by Mavrik
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2005, 06:13 PM
Ain't Dutch? Ain't Mutch!
Kimble_Schmitz's Avatar
Southampton, UK
Joined Oct 2001
3,384 Posts
Nice Mav, rub it in.

Maiden is prosponed untill I get some new servo's. I had them glued on ready to go and then I messed up soldering the wires! So now I am back to stage one. Oh well.

Two more C 261 servo's will replace the W-084. I like these servo's a lot more then the Waipoint ones, better centering.

The rest of the plane is ready to yank and bank. Including a lot of battery packs!

J.
Kimble_Schmitz is offline Find More Posts by Kimble_Schmitz
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2005, 06:52 PM
UN Earth peoples true enemy
treehog's Avatar
Euroland
Joined Jan 2004
1,801 Posts
Just back from holidays so will start the build

I will start with a s400 brushed and move to mega 4turn and later buy the mega 2 or 3 turn all with 8*gp 1000 until I purchace the new gp2000 cells

I bought three hitec 55 instead to take out of my raz faz the three graupner 261

I hAVE such good experiences with the hs55 and graupner 261 it a close call which is best
centreing with 261 seems to be slightly better
but I rarely replace cogs on hs55 and some hs55 have years abuse and and 100 plus flying hours slope soaring and still going strong and besides the price in the LHS was so good for the hs55 I bought a few extra for other projects
ok sometimes I cheap skate a little bit
if the cheaper item has proven itself against my abilty to repeatly crash

looking at the construction have to say for the elevator servo with its premade tray system is the way to go and hopefully other model makers will follow suit

photos supplied later and I got the yellow version

but before the build starts got to fix the slightly broken planes from the holiday so that will slow things up a little bit

Ralf
treehog is offline Find More Posts by treehog
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2005, 06:55 AM
Registered User
Mavrik's Avatar
Sydney Australia
Joined May 2005
869 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kimble_Schmitz
Nice Mav, rub it in.

Maiden is prosponed untill I get some new servo's. I had them glued on ready to go and then I messed up soldering the wires! So now I am back to stage one. Oh well.

Two more C 261 servo's will replace the W-084. I like these servo's a lot more then the Waipoint ones, better centering.

The rest of the plane is ready to yank and bank. Including a lot of battery packs!

J.
How will you remove glued waypoint servos ??? Did you use CA ???

Thas how I glued mine !!!

Mav
Mavrik is offline Find More Posts by Mavrik
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2005, 11:07 AM
Ain't Dutch? Ain't Mutch!
Kimble_Schmitz's Avatar
Southampton, UK
Joined Oct 2001
3,384 Posts
Nope, I use epoxy......

The servo's are now off. Just twisted one strait off and on the other one I had to demolisch the servo and then sand the remains away. A lot of hastle and the plane has not even flown yet!!!

Ohhh well.

New servo's should be here any day now.

J.
Kimble_Schmitz is offline Find More Posts by Kimble_Schmitz
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2005, 03:28 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2004
352 Posts
powerstrips are just ok for this plane.......

then there are no problems for removing them.

I couldnt find any bad habbits using the strips
f5b@wannabe is offline Find More Posts by f5b@wannabe
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2005, 07:09 PM
Ain't Dutch? Ain't Mutch!
Kimble_Schmitz's Avatar
Southampton, UK
Joined Oct 2001
3,384 Posts
f5b@wannabe,

I would not suggest the use of power stips. Power strips are very flexible and don't age well. Specialy on a hot day they can get very flexible and can even completely let go if you apply a little force.

When you are flying an airplane at over 250km/uur there is no room for error.
That is the reason why I use 30min epoxy or better to glue my servos in.

My new servos have arrived today and one has already been glued on. Tomorrow I will try and do the other one and then take a picture of the finished setup.

J.
Kimble_Schmitz is offline Find More Posts by Kimble_Schmitz
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2005, 03:49 AM
Registered User
Mavrik's Avatar
Sydney Australia
Joined May 2005
869 Posts
15 flights on Voodoo now and very impressed. Will post pictures shortly,

Mav
Mavrik is offline Find More Posts by Mavrik
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2005, 04:27 AM
Need 4 Speed :-)
Venray, The Netherlands
Joined Dec 2004
1,104 Posts
Hi Kimble,

250 KPH? What setup are you running on?

I'm using B20 15L on 8 gp1100 and 4,7x4,7... just striking the 200 KPH...

Pascal
Rodebaron51 is offline Find More Posts by Rodebaron51
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2005, 10:29 AM
Ain't Dutch? Ain't Mutch!
Kimble_Schmitz's Avatar
Southampton, UK
Joined Oct 2001
3,384 Posts
Pascal,
If you have a read of this thread again. You wil see a post with speeds of different aircraft with their setups. Post #28

My setup at the moment is not going to cut it but I am still experimenting. I suspect that in a dive with a 3S TP2100 pack and a HET-RC 3W it will go 250kmh at some point.

Here are some pictures of my servo install. A word of warning in shortening the long control bar. It is not a solid metal rod in there! It is a tube and therefore does not bend well.

So either you need to find another ball link of the same size or you need to cut the tube and drill it out so you can glue a solid piece of rod in there. This is what I did.

The Z bend way is about the only way to make a link short enough to fit my setup. It is slightly shorter then the other short link that came with the plane.

Gregg, enjoy.

J.
Kimble_Schmitz is offline Find More Posts by Kimble_Schmitz
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2005, 10:39 AM
Ain't Dutch? Ain't Mutch!
Kimble_Schmitz's Avatar
Southampton, UK
Joined Oct 2001
3,384 Posts
Here are two pictures of the other servo glued to the wing as normal. You can also see the spot I sanded where the second servo will go.

There is no slop what so ever in this linkage!

In my last post you can also see a little piece of ply wood glued to the servo. This is to move the servo down and away from the trailing edge of the wing a little. The reason for this will become clear later but mainly it's because the servo sticks out behind the trailing edge of the wing for about 2mm.

J.
Kimble_Schmitz is offline Find More Posts by Kimble_Schmitz
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2005, 05:38 PM
Ain't Dutch? Ain't Mutch!
Kimble_Schmitz's Avatar
Southampton, UK
Joined Oct 2001
3,384 Posts
Well.

Need to catch some sleep now but the plane is more or less finished.

Here are some pictures of the motor and NACA style duct to keep it cool.

More tomorrow.

J.
Kimble_Schmitz is offline Find More Posts by Kimble_Schmitz
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2005, 06:29 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2004
352 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kimble_Schmitz
f5b@wannabe,

I would not suggest the use of power stips. Power strips are very flexible and don't age well. Specialy on a hot day they can get very flexible and can even completely let go if you apply a little force.


J.
Thats simply not true.......

its already done, without any problems even on hot days...... note: on pilished surfaces the strips work even better.
but you can get problems with using resins on the voodoos wing... its very thin and flexible... theres a chance for the units to crack off......

so, everything may be not the optimum, but mine got today the 100 flight... no problems at all. Maybe i have special strips, i dont know
f5b@wannabe is offline Find More Posts by f5b@wannabe
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion New Pylon Racer dalbert02 Electric Plane Talk 2 Sep 22, 2006 10:19 PM
Discussion New pylon racer.. whatcha think? threcixty High Performance 7 Jul 31, 2006 12:10 AM
Spirit 400, my new pylon racer! Thomas Manson Parkflyers 2 Aug 31, 2003 09:07 PM
New pylon racer launch system sneu High Performance 5 Feb 13, 2003 05:22 AM
T-Strike, a new pylon racer! Harm Botman High Performance 15 Jan 25, 2002 07:26 PM