HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 08, 2012, 03:51 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, London
Joined Nov 2011
86 Posts
Yes, it is the Mega 16/15/2, I will try to do a kv check a bit later to see what is going on. We set the throttle travel but I will do it again just to check.
dandos23 is offline Find More Posts by dandos23
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 08, 2012, 11:33 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, London
Joined Nov 2011
86 Posts
Well, it appears that the wrong motor was sent out and I have the 16/15/3. I thought that it did not feel quite right. Regardless, a 16/15/2 is now on its way to me.
dandos23 is offline Find More Posts by dandos23
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2012, 01:30 PM
Crashing into the sky!
jackosmeister's Avatar
Auckland NZ
Joined Aug 2007
7,302 Posts
Cool, trust me, there would be something wrong with you if it feels slow on a 15/2 3S setup
jackosmeister is online now Find More Posts by jackosmeister
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2012, 06:16 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2009
47 Posts
Gents

Another Noob question
test run of my Voodoo motor with Nue 1105/2.5Y, CC ICE 54, 1800mah 11.1V, 4.1x41. prop
2 (ea) momentary power run under 10 sec over 500 watts indicated (was nervous standing in the proximity of the meat cutter) When I saw 500 Watts I shut it down.
That motor got MOFO hot! (but it wouldn't boil spit)
Qustion is, how hot do these things run and what is typical?
And if hot is expected, is it customary to open up cooling air exit holes

Thanks all
mofosheee is offline Find More Posts by mofosheee
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 09, 2012, 12:18 AM
Registered User
hybris's Avatar
Houston, TX
Joined May 2003
745 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mofosheee View Post
Gents

Another Noob question
test run of my Voodoo motor with Nue 1105/2.5Y, CC ICE 54, 1800mah 11.1V, 4.1x41. prop
2 (ea) momentary power run under 10 sec over 500 watts indicated (was nervous standing in the proximity of the meat cutter) When I saw 500 Watts I shut it down.
That motor got MOFO hot! (but it wouldn't boil spit)
Qustion is, how hot do these things run and what is typical?
And if hot is expected, is it customary to open up cooling air exit holes

Thanks all
I have the same motor, prop and turnigy non nano battery. I have been flying that combo for a couple years without issue (well a couple batteries). Just the stock cooling. I never noticed it that hot after landing. Granted there is a small cooling hole but there is 150+ mph wind going by.
hybris is offline Find More Posts by hybris
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 11:10 AM
Registered User
Sweden (Åkersberga)
Joined Nov 2004
694 Posts
Will ~350w be enough as a start? That's what I get with a HET 2W (4750kV) 2s and 4.75 x 4.75
(Can't even imagine how to squeeze in a 3s without moving the aileron servos..)
Thanks.
hakank is offline Find More Posts by hakank
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 12:41 PM
Drinks Day Old Expired Milk
VooDoo Child's Avatar
United States, OR, Portland
Joined Aug 2010
2,832 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hakank View Post
Will ~350w be enough as a start? That's what I get with a HET 2W (4750kV) 2s and 4.75 x 4.75
(Can't even imagine how to squeeze in a 3s without moving the aileron servos..)
Thanks.
I first flew mine on 250w and it was FUN...now mine is about 325w and it is a BLAST.You will have MORE then enough power
VooDoo Child is offline Find More Posts by VooDoo Child
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 12:42 PM
Drinks Day Old Expired Milk
VooDoo Child's Avatar
United States, OR, Portland
Joined Aug 2010
2,832 Posts
and i hate to say it,but i will be selling mine.
VooDoo Child is offline Find More Posts by VooDoo Child
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 02:50 PM
Registered User
Sweden (Åkersberga)
Joined Nov 2004
694 Posts
Thanks Voodoo. But why are you going to sell yours?
hakank is offline Find More Posts by hakank
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 04:13 PM
Registered User
savneo's Avatar
Cyprus
Joined Mar 2012
174 Posts
Slighty off topic but do you guys ever oil the bearings in the mega motors? I have an F5D which is making a werrrrring noise, different to before. only had 15 flight @ 50amps max static. Still seems to fly good though.
savneo is offline Find More Posts by savneo
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 05:20 PM
Drinks Day Old Expired Milk
VooDoo Child's Avatar
United States, OR, Portland
Joined Aug 2010
2,832 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hakank View Post
Thanks Voodoo. But why are you going to sell yours?
I never hold on to any one plane for to long,i have to many others i want to try I have had ALOT of fun with the VooDoo,it is an AMAZING little plane....But i have been enjoying the F5D size planes a bit more these days,and i also have a power system that needs a new home
VooDoo Child is offline Find More Posts by VooDoo Child
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 05:27 PM
Drinks Day Old Expired Milk
VooDoo Child's Avatar
United States, OR, Portland
Joined Aug 2010
2,832 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by savneo View Post
Slighty off topic but do you guys ever oil the bearings in the mega motors? I have an F5D which is making a werrrrring noise, different to before. only had 15 flight @ 50amps max static. Still seems to fly good though.
That sounds strange,sure something like the prop or spinner has not lost it's balance....Now that might sound strange,but i had the same thing happened,and i put on a new balanced prop,and the sound went away...I just can not beleave the bearings would be the cause in such a short time.i also had on another plane that made a bit of odd noise,and wicking CA around the mount helped on that one,think a hard landing might have caused that.
VooDoo Child is offline Find More Posts by VooDoo Child
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2012, 04:02 AM
I am actually really slow
SlowBarless's Avatar
Brisbane
Joined Jun 2008
961 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hakank View Post
Will ~350w be enough as a start? That's what I get with a HET 2W (4750kV) 2s and 4.75 x 4.75
(Can't even imagine how to squeeze in a 3s without moving the aileron servos..)
Thanks.
Mines only 200 watts. How is it possible for something to make so little power. I really dont understand, think I need new batteries.

And regarding wing servos, I'll be cutting holes in the wing soon to put some d60's in. So I will have heaps of room in the fuse for batteries.
SlowBarless is offline Find More Posts by SlowBarless
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Carbon Fiber up close
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2012, 07:13 AM
Drinks Day Old Expired Milk
VooDoo Child's Avatar
United States, OR, Portland
Joined Aug 2010
2,832 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowBarless View Post
Mines only 200 watts. How is it possible for something to make so little power. I really dont understand, think I need new batteries.

And regarding wing servos, I'll be cutting holes in the wing soon to put some d60's in. So I will have heaps of room in the fuse for batteries.
Just use the d47's,that is more then enough servo for this bird.Even if you cut up the wings,i do not think the 60's will fit.
VooDoo Child is offline Find More Posts by VooDoo Child
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2012, 08:48 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2009
47 Posts
Voodoo.......can you please enlighten me on your spoileron settintgs for slowing your Voodoo down on landings? i.e. travel of spoilerons and elevator. Thanks again

Jerry
mofosheee is offline Find More Posts by mofosheee
Last edited by mofosheee; Jul 22, 2012 at 08:49 AM. Reason: misspelled word
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion New Pylon Racer dalbert02 Electric Plane Talk 2 Sep 22, 2006 09:19 PM
Discussion New pylon racer.. whatcha think? threcixty High Performance 7 Jul 30, 2006 11:10 PM
Spirit 400, my new pylon racer! Thomas Manson Parkflyers 2 Aug 31, 2003 08:07 PM
New pylon racer launch system sneu High Performance 5 Feb 13, 2003 04:22 AM
T-Strike, a new pylon racer! Harm Botman High Performance 15 Jan 25, 2002 06:26 PM