HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 27, 2004, 10:40 AM
Joined Dec 2004
2 Posts
My first RC Helicopter

I'm a beginner just getting into this hobby. I have been looking at a few electric helicopters on-line. The few that appeal to me the most, and seem to be easy enough for a beginner, but advanced enough to keep me busy are as folllows.
BumbleBee 3D Pro Collective pitch. I like this one, because it came with simulator software and the serial cable to connect the remote to my PC. It also has two batteries and a lot of run-time.

Hobby Source XR-1. Seems like it would be easy to fly with the HVG technology...at least that's what they say. Doesn't seem to be much room for improvement on this model. More like a what you buy is what you get. I don't want to have to junk this thing after I get more proficient, then go buy a better model.

ECO 8: this one seems to be the flagship of the models I listed. It has a lot of room for improvement (accessories, stronger components, lighter components, etc). From what I gather, this model could keep me busy for quite a while.

Any advice would be most appreciated. I'm not set on any of these models, since I don't know much more than what I've read over the past couple of days. So any other helicopter models you've had success with would be appreciated. I will say that I'd like to stay in the 400-600 dollar realm. If I have to go above that for the "cat's meow" so be it.

Thanks in advance,

Neil
neiljames is offline Find More Posts by neiljames
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 27, 2004, 11:50 AM
Joined Dec 2004
920 Posts
Well...

i'm a total nOOb too...

i flew the Esky honey beeII (is that what your talking about the bumble bee?)...

its cheap, came with 2 batteries, and simulator software/cable...