SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 23, 2004, 03:07 PM
Bridgwater, UK
Joined May 2003
673 Posts
Can these things LIFT ?

Hi all, Im new to auto gyros and I was wondering if an electric AG would be able to lift a camera for aerial photography. If so I have a payload of 0.5Kg that would need to be lifted and still handle ok. What sort of size would I need ?

Thanks, Terry
Terry S is offline Find More Posts by Terry S
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 24, 2004, 12:17 AM
Just one more plane!
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
Joined Aug 2004
2,537 Posts
I am not trying to sway you from doing AP with a gyro. But why don't you just use a plane?

Just curious.

You would need a gyro that was built very light for it's rotor span then factor in the camera to see if you would be able to get off the ground so to speak. I am not really sure which model would do the trick. Maybe one of the other fellas around here can help you with that.

John
JWarren is offline Find More Posts by JWarren
Old Dec 24, 2004, 06:37 AM
Bridgwater, UK
Joined May 2003
673 Posts
Hi John, I do use a plane but it dose need a bit of room to land, I just thought an autogyro may be the thing to give me good stol performance ?
If Im wrong thats fine and I will go back to practicing my heli flying, thanks for your reply.

Terry
Old Dec 24, 2004, 07:37 AM
Joined Nov 2004
3,354 Posts
Autogyros have in general a long takeoff and a short landing, maybe not the thing for aerial photography. Also the lift to drag is awful and you need lots of power just to fly and endurance is limited. You might make something with
pre-spin to get the takeoff shorter and have lots of power to overcome the weight of the camera, however you then have something as complicated as a heli. If you don't mind the money there is a stabilized platform for sale at
http://www.rctoys.com/draganflyerxpro.php, it can carry one pound.
It is ready to fly but pricey ($5000!).