SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 21, 2004, 09:31 PM
flies Like a dog
Joined Dec 2004
10 Posts
Stocking Stuffer - 144 inch Challenger or 3 M Mistral?

It has been either too cold or too windy for the last 6 weekends when I have wanted to fly my 2 meter Spririt, so I have decided that it is time to buy a stocking stuffer and get my building season started.

Some background . . . .
1. I've had a lot of fun learning to fly with the Spirit. -- 90% self taught.
2. I have a high start rated for up to 3 meter planes. (I don't mind buying a heavier duty high start and don't have access to a winch)
3. I have moderate building skills. - Repairing leading edges that have bullied trees is fun!
4. I had enough confidence in my flying this year to let my 8 year old have several stints at flying with a buddy box -- Taking back control and recovering when he got the Spirit 75% of the way into an inverted loop at 200 feet of elevation was fun!
5. I have a balsa budget - no fiberglass for me!
6. Thermal is my interest as I don't have nearby access to any slope sites.
7. Bigger is better - poor eyesight 20/50 corrected.

I've narrowed my choices to a 144 inch Challenger from Skybench or the 3 M Mistral from Isthmus Models. I probably would have ordered the Challenger yesterday if Skybench hadn't shut down for the holidays.

Please share any experieces you may have with building or flying either of these models

Does any one know of a build thread for either of these models?
NewfGlider is offline Find More Posts by NewfGlider
Last edited by NewfGlider; Dec 22, 2004 at 07:42 AM. Reason: corrected inaccurate wingspan
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 22, 2004, 12:32 AM
Born to be free
undefined
Joined Sep 2004
413 Posts
Go with the Mistral. A friend of mine used to have one and it was a very sweet sailplane. I doubt that it will be a stocking stuffer this Christmas though. I read every kit is cut to order.