HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 18, 2004, 08:30 PM
Registered User
Boise, Idaho
Joined Dec 2001
18 Posts
Need help with wiring

Would like to use some parts i have on hand, can someone help with connection details?
RHuber is offline Find More Posts by RHuber
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 18, 2004, 08:31 PM
Average User
M Ashmore's Avatar
Bakersfield, California
Joined Aug 2003
1,726 Posts
What are you wanting to do?
M Ashmore is offline Find More Posts by M Ashmore
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2004, 08:34 PM
Registered User
Boise, Idaho
Joined Dec 2001
18 Posts
First i need to learn how to attach a drawing
RHuber is offline Find More Posts by RHuber
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2004, 08:45 PM
Registered User
Boise, Idaho
Joined Dec 2001
18 Posts
One more try
RHuber is offline Find More Posts by RHuber
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2004, 09:29 PM
Registered User
Boise, Idaho
Joined Dec 2001
18 Posts
Last try
RHuber is offline Find More Posts by RHuber
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2004, 10:18 PM
Registered User
aeropal's Avatar
Joined Jan 2003
1,421 Posts
Typical Electric Hookup Diagram
aeropal is offline Find More Posts by aeropal
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2004, 10:28 PM
INDORUS EXPARAMINTO
SPEED-E-FLYER's Avatar
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Joined Jul 2002
4,206 Posts
Your servos have a yellow signal along with black- and red+ leads
Make sure you plug the signal wire in the right direction.
Plug your lead from your ESC to th throttle in the first slot
Ailerons in 2nd slot
elevator in 3rd slot
and rudder in 4th.
Turn Radio on make sure left stick in in the down position and then plug in battery.
See if servos work. Throttle up motor and verify direction of rotation.
It might be a good idea to leave the prop off for now just to figure things out.

Good Luck
Larry
SPEED-E-FLYER is offline Find More Posts by SPEED-E-FLYER
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2004, 09:21 AM
Dismembered Member...
arx_n_sparx's Avatar
Niagara Falls/Toronto area
Joined Dec 2003
4,536 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPFD-E-FLYER
Your servos have a yellow signal along with black- and red+ leads
Make sure you plug the signal wire in the right direction.
Plug your lead from your ESC to th throttle in the first slot
Ailerons in 2nd slot
elevator in 3rd slot
and rudder in 4th.
Turn Radio on make sure left stick in in the down position and then plug in battery.
See if servos work. Throttle up motor and verify direction of rotation.
It might be a good idea to leave the prop off for now just to figure things out.

Good Luck
Larry
Larry: What mode do you fly???

For mode 2 (by a long shot the most common - this gives you pitch and roll on the right stick)) it's:
Ch1 - ailerons
Ch2- elevator
Ch3- throttle
Ch4- rudder

If you are flying rudder/elevator/throttle, plug the rudder into channel 1.

Brad

<edit> Oops - just saw that it's a JR radio - go with Larry's list.
arx_n_sparx is offline Find More Posts by arx_n_sparx
Last edited by arx_n_sparx; Dec 19, 2004 at 09:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2004, 10:41 AM
INDORUS EXPARAMINTO
SPEED-E-FLYER's Avatar
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Joined Jul 2002
4,206 Posts
Yes, he has a Airtronics reciever.
Brad has a Futaba/Hitec radio and it gets plugged in different sequence.

Fut/Hitec use the same trasmitting shift to send signals to the recievers( I forget if it's Pos. or Neg.)
Someone will chime in here soon and set us straight.

JR/Airtronic use the same shift.

So when you buy any receiver make sure it's compatible with your transmitter
Like a GWS reciever will have a small "J" on it for JR/Airt. or a small "F" for Fut/Hitec.
Some reciever like BERGs can be used with either.

Good Luck
Larry
SPEED-E-FLYER is offline Find More Posts by SPEED-E-FLYER
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2004, 05:10 PM
Registered User
IsToR's Avatar
Stockholm, Sweden
Joined Aug 2004
341 Posts
I find it very hard to connect anything wrong, almost impossible. Also, as you seem to know what's + and - you really shouldn't have any problems at all.
IsToR is offline Find More Posts by IsToR
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2004, 03:21 AM
Registered User
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
10,488 Posts
Which receiver channel you need to use for each function depends on the MAKE of the TRANSMITTER. Not the make of the receiver, not the mode, not the shift...just the transmitter MAKE.

JR and Airtronics use the same shift so they will work with the same receivers but they use different receiver channels. Since RHuber hasn't said what Tx he's using we can't know what the correct sequence is for him.

But anyway it doesn't much matter, you don't damage anything by plugging a servo into the wrong channel. Just keep swapping them round until the correct Tx stick controls the correct thing on the plane .

Steve
slipstick is offline Find More Posts by slipstick
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2004, 09:35 AM
INDORUS EXPARAMINTO
SPEED-E-FLYER's Avatar
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Joined Jul 2002
4,206 Posts
Exactly Slipttick.
It's what he says

Should have been thinking/typing a bit clearer

Let us know how it goes RH

Larry
SPEED-E-FLYER is offline Find More Posts by SPEED-E-FLYER
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2004, 08:48 PM
Registered User
Boise, Idaho
Joined Dec 2001
18 Posts
Thank you all that replied to my wiring question.

Using Airtronics "Vangard 4G4R 4 channel radio with Airtronics receiver (came as a set new) a few years back when i was learning to fly RC.

I thaught i was so smart and plugged everything in to give it a test. Well i just received the receiver back from Airtronics after having it repaired so i'am not in to big a hurry to just plug things in to see if it works.

Need wiring for "Dummies" with photos.


Roger
RHuber is offline Find More Posts by RHuber
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2004, 09:35 PM
Registered User
Rochester,MN
Joined Feb 2001
749 Posts
One more thing to be aware of. I believe some of the older airtronics receivers used different wiring on the receiver connections. The convention used in new radios by all the manufactures is in this order Gnd (black or brown) / +V (red) / servo signal (yellow or orange). The older airtronics I believe used a different order (don't recall what it was), so when you plug in the Electrifly it may have the wires in a different order than your airtronics receiver wants. You'll have to look at your receiver documentation and see what it wants the order to be. You may also have the same problem on your servo leads. If this is your problem, you can reorder the wires in the connectors. Come back and let us know if this is your problem and someone can tell you how to swap the wires.

In your diagram, the normal convention would be a=black or brown wire, b=red wire, and c=yellow or orange. Is this what your receiver documentation expects the wiring to be?
RonD is offline Find More Posts by RonD
Last edited by RonD; Dec 21, 2004 at 10:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Need help with wiring Hextronic BEC Jagzilla Power Systems 5 Feb 08, 2007 07:05 AM
need help with wiring tduro Electric Plane Talk 8 Jan 29, 2005 10:10 AM
Need help with Mega wiring!! DaJudge Power Systems 2 Sep 26, 2002 10:33 PM
I need help with motor timing. jtthebiggafigga Electric Plane Talk 3 Jun 09, 2001 11:12 PM
Need help with 400 for park flyer Cpietro Electric Plane Talk 2 May 21, 2001 01:35 AM