HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 05, 2004, 11:39 PM
2 Mistakes Downwind
Portland, OR
Joined Nov 2004
414 Posts
Build Log
Magpie Build Thread and Review from a Beginner's Angle

I'm in the process of building a Mountain Models Magpie, and I figure I may as well start a build thread for it here, where other beginners might benefit from reading about a plane and a build process written from the perspective of a complete beginner. I will also make this a beginner's-eye review of the Magpie. (Plus, I need some writing practice)

The Magpie

In case you haven't heard the buzz, the Magpie is a new trainer from Mountain Models, released in October this year. It is said to be an excellent trainer, being very easy, slow, and forgiving to fly. There are several recent threads about this plane in this forum and Parkflyers, as well as Aerial Photography (AP) forum where it has quickly gained something of a cult status as a great AP platform, beating out the classic GWS Slow Stick as the favorite AP plane of some early adopters.

Construction: EPS and Depron
Wingspan: 46" (SF wing version)
Wing area: 414 sq. in
Length: 34"
Weight w/o battery: 12-13 ounces

Please see this page for full details of the plane, plus videos and builder's manual.

The Maker

Mountain Models has a very good reputation for kit quality, as well as probably the best reputation around for customer service. It is a small family company run by Doug Binder out of Penrose, Colorado, and specializing in quality, easy to build electric model aircraft kits. Doug and Matthew Binder both participate in these forums and are always quick to offer help and general discussion about their models.

The Builder

Nothing exciting here. I'm a 30 year old Aussie software engineer with no previous modelling or aviation experience or knowledge. I currently live in Southern California.