Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Nov 18, 2004, 04:49 PM
Iowa
Joined Nov 2004
12 Posts
Batterys and run time Nimh/ Lipo's

Help!! I am new to this part of the R/C sport. I recently purchased a Koyosho ep caliber m-24 heli. I am getting better at flying but for 2 min. of fun for 6hrs of charge doesn't give me much stick time. I have contacted the manufacturer of the unit for more batteries and they are not available in the states from Koyosho. It is a 9.6 v pack with 8 batteries about the size of a dry cell AAA battery. Is there any way to increase flight time without frying the ESC unit? There are no specs for this unit from the tech I spoke to. He also said not to even try Lipo batteries. Why? From what I see there is a tremendous amount of knowledge here at this site, hoping someone can help me out. Don't get too techinical as I have little knowledge of electronics. Thanks,
Maxxrunner (yeah I am 4 wheel impaired)
MaxxRunner is offline Find More Posts by MaxxRunner
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 19, 2004, 07:57 PM
Iowa
Joined Nov 2004
12 Posts
Ttt
MaxxRunner is offline Find More Posts by MaxxRunner
Old Nov 19, 2004, 08:14 PM
Pittsburgh Allegheny, Pennsylvania, United States
Joined May 2004
1,162 Posts
OK... The m24 should fly for more than 2 min. If it's not, then your main motor, or bateries are going bad. Over charging NiMh is the biggest cause of bad batteries... and the 280 type motors only have a short life in a micro heli. My aerohawk wouldn't fly with the motor that came with it. But it was an easy fix... I just put in a speed 300. I don't know if you can do that because it may pull too many amps and fry your ESC.

The reason you shouldn't run Lipo's in that heli is because a 2 cell lipo will be around 7.4 volts (too low, and won't fly it) and a 3 cell will be 11.1 volts. (too high and will smoke the electronics)