Old Nov 05, 2004, 05:04 PM
I even seen a house fly!
Montreal!
Joined Oct 2003
2,700 Posts
Cool
Doing a Rufe conversion my way!

Hi guys!

Ok, I'm finally getting to my Rufe conversion of a GWS zero! What with the first snowfall bound to come down tonight, I figure it's best to get my winter builds started!

Yes, I know quite a number of Rufe conversions have been done, and I've seen zeroes outfitted with GWS floats, but while the GWS float seems about the right size and shape, I'm not terribly fond of their construction. They're way too heavy in my opinion, and they also tend to take on water, which for floatplanes is... bad. Pat Tritle did an excellent job on his, but I figured I'd try a slightly different approach on mine . I'm rather picky on aestetics, and as an artist, I will be eyeballing and playing it by ear a lot to get things just right.

So, what I'm doing is blowing up the plans for my 16" Guillows Rufe and using that as a base. I really love the lines of the Guillows Rufe, so I'm hoping I can stay relatively true to those proportions and still keep it flyable/landable/etc.! From what I've read, for this particular aircraft, the step needs to be 1/4" behind the CG. I tend to like flying my zero with the CG just a tad behind the wing spar, so looking at the Guillows bird, it looks about right.

The GWS Zero has a span of 33.5", so we're looking at a multiple of approx. 2.09. My plan (and here's where it gets neat) is to use 1/8" (twice the 1/16th stuff the Guillows kit is made of) balsa formers and keels, use carbon fiber for the stringers and skin the whole thing with balsa, fiberglass, and voila!