HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale

Lunch with Keith - January 2003

This month Keith talks about mimicking a realistic engine/prop sound, timing an AstroFlight 25G, the development of battery technology, and more.

Splash

Mimicking A Realistic Engine/Prop Sound

Keith,
I am relatively new to the RC world. I came across this Q&A of yours that discussed plane/prop noise and the desire to mimic a realistic engine/prop sound. Is there anything on the market related to having recorded sounds of your particular plane being broadcasted from the model? I am thinking of mainly the electric motor world, as the gas motors would be too loud and drown out anything else. It has surely been thought of by someone, and it may be a weight issue that stopped it from being developed. Any related info on this? What are your thoughts?
Thanks!
Travis Watson

Hi Travis,
The idea of making our models sound "real" has intrigued me for a long time. I have designed and built several sound synthesizers with varying results. I have also used a small microphone mounted just behind the prop to amplify the prop noise, as the majority of sound we heard from a man-carrying plane in flight is prop noise. All these methods show real promise, but the BIG engineering challenge is to build a lightweight, efficient loudspeaker. Commercial units are far too heavy and very bulky. I have an interesting design in the works, but not had time to flight test it. To get the sound to carry requires a large diameter unit driven with about 50 to 100 watts. Needless to say, we're taking about big, high cell count planes. Once I get a design to work, it is possible that the idea can be scaled down to smaller size planes. So many projects, so little time...
Keith

The Estrellita

I have a vice, the AstroFlight 010! I love this motor. Since I saw the Estrellita in your hands, I have wanted to build one and put one of my AstroFlight 010 motors in it. Is there a plan to this plane to buy/lend/lease?