HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 30, 2004, 12:44 AM
The ProCreator
United States, CA, Claremont
Joined Jan 2004
1,042 Posts
Scratch Glass Bugatti Build Thread

Now that building season is upon us I thought I would share how I will take my EPP Bugatti design to glass. This thread will cover the creation of the plug, mold(s), parts, build, paint, and finish. What should be most interesting will be the plug and mold process. Having worked as a professional concept artist, I will create the plug as if it were an automobile prototype. After making a rigid armature, I will sculpt the fuselage out of Chavant plasteline clay. This non-drying clay is hard enough to withstand the molding process and it will allow me to create fine details such as the exhaust ports, vents, and panel lines—all part of the original mold! This also has the great benefit of NO SANDING. The mold will be a top/bottom split due to the huge fillets on the model. So, let’s get building!!
Artsloper is offline Find More Posts by Artsloper
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 30, 2004, 12:48 AM
The ProCreator
Joined Jan 2004
1,042 Posts
First I will start with a reference model of the Bugatti and an accurate 3-view drawing.
Old Oct 30, 2004, 12:56 AM
Increasing my carbon footprint
Newberg Or.
Joined Jan 2003
887 Posts
Dude! that thing is awsome. did you scratch build the epp version? i would like to build one

later
tim
mothflyer is offline Find More Posts by mothflyer
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Tail Disser How To
Old Oct 30, 2004, 12:57 AM
The ProCreator
Joined Jan 2004
1,042 Posts
After scanning the 3-view I create an outline in Corel Draw. You can use any CAD program for this, I simply have grown accustom to Corel.

I then print out a top view and a side view at the chosen scale (1/7).
Old Oct 30, 2004, 12:57 AM
Free as a bird now.
United States, FL, Punta Gorda
Joined May 2002
6,610 Posts
Cool! I'll be looking forward to seeing this build for sure.