HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 11, 2004, 09:20 PM
Joined Sep 2004
40 Posts
Diy brushless esc

Hi,
I'm relatively new to rc, but i have an interest in electronics and am trying to build a brushless esc. I'm wondering if it would be possible to create a 1 speed sensored controller and then attaching a regular esc to the imput wires so that it would regulate the voltage, therefore regulating the speed. Any ideas?
slowflyer90 is offline Find More Posts by slowflyer90
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 12, 2004, 08:53 AM
Willmar, Minnesota, United States
Joined Sep 2004
160 Posts
a brushless controller regulates the speed of the brushless motor by controlling WHEN to turn on a particular set of coils, and when to turn it off.
regulating the voltage does not regulate the speed on a brushless motor.
it IS possible to use the controller board from, say a CDROM or floppy drive motor as a single-speed controller, but it is bigger and heavier than a standard brushless speed controller.
Jim Buzzeo is offline Find More Posts by Jim Buzzeo
Old Oct 12, 2004, 09:33 AM
Joined Sep 2004
40 Posts
thanks for clearing that up,
im thinking of making a basic 1 speed controller using hal effect sensors and some transistors; so that the hal sensors dictate which transistors turn on, which dictates which set of coils is on. Do you know of any existing circuit diagrams for this purpose?
Old Oct 12, 2004, 11:54 AM
"Simplify, then add lightness"
Raleigh,NC
Joined Nov 2000
2,701 Posts
When you use hall sensors to control a motor, you are just replacing the mechanical commutation on a brushed motor with more efficient electronic commutation, so changing the voltage to the motor will change the speed just like on a brushed motor. Here is a page that tells what you should need to design a sensored controller. http://www.allegromicro.com/techpub2/hurst/bldcmot.pdf
jeffs555 is offline Find More Posts by jeffs555
Old Oct 12, 2004, 01:00 PM
Joined Sep 2004
40 Posts