Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Feb 12, 2002, 10:40 AM
Ohio Wapak
Joined Feb 2002
3,710 Posts
c.g....how to find it....

I have been reading about the dive test. I am new to this flying thing I have a zagi 3c.......is there an easy way to find the C.G....I am interested in different ways to find it..thanks...
thor4944 is offline Find More Posts by thor4944
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 12, 2002, 11:37 AM
Ascended Master
Palmdale, CA
Joined Oct 2000
13,371 Posts
Zagis are difficult enough to fly without deliberately crashing them!
The c.g. for the Zagi is on the plans. The plane will fly VERY WELL with the c.g. at that point. A slight bit aft of that and it will become VERY UNSTABLE! Flying wings are like that. Small twitchy flying wings.. OI!!!!
There's no need to "dive test" a Zagi.
The c.g. is where the plane balances; the nose and tail ends an equal distance from a horizontal surface. There is ALWAYS a point where this happens. Positioning that point properly (per the plans) determines if the plane is flyable. Too far ahead of the plan's position, the plane will be sluggish and slow. Too far aft, it will be too sensitive and difficult to control if it flies at all.
Nose heavy planes fly sluggishly, tail heavy planes fly once.
Sparky Paul is online now Find More Posts by Sparky Paul
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 12, 2002, 11:52 AM
Ohio Wapak
Joined Feb 2002
3,710 Posts
The C.G.

If the center of G. is to far foreward you said it would fly slugish...and slow...I like planes that fly slow (cause I suck a flying) but by slugish does that mean it will stall a lot??? I guess what is your Def. of slugish..thanks!!!!
Old Feb 12, 2002, 11:57 AM
Mr Mootsie
Pepperell, MA, USA
Joined Jan 2001
2,565 Posts
I think that by sluggish he means that you have to input my control and hold it longer to initiate and complete the maneuver. Nose-heavy aircraft are much more predictable, stable, but you are trading that for ability to thermal, etc...