SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 02, 2004, 01:15 PM
Marietta, Ga
Joined Sep 2004
34 Posts
Calypso Billing Boats

I'm a first time boat builder. As a kid I built many car models and always enjoyed it. Recently I quit smoking and as a diversion I went to the local hobby store and bought what looks like a pretty complicated model. It's the Billing Boats Calypso.
Found out right away that the instructions are not as complete as those Revelle Models I built long ago. I came to realize that you need to know a little about the boat your building. So, I looked around the internet and found some history and specific features about the Calypso. For instance the lower front (bow) of the boat has an observation cone where I would have expected the sonar to be. The little circles they show in the intructions actually need to be drilled first which is not mentioned in the instructions.
Additionally, it looks as though the sequence of the building instructions need to be changed depending on whether you want to add RC to the model and the painting you want to do.
Speaking of RC. I know nothing about it. I again started researching the subject and found my way here.
If it's ok, I thought it would be cool to create this thread to show my progress through the coming winter months.
I already started the build. I drilled the holes and installed the Prop shafts, the rudders, the nose cone. I cut the hull and mounted the hull stabalizers(?). I had some problems when the PVC cracked in places during the cutting. I used two part auto body putty to fill the cracks and all the imperfections from the original vacume molding. Sanded and painted with grey primer. I then installed the lower deck (where the motor and RC electronics get mounted) and the fan tail deck.