HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 30, 2004, 08:46 PM
Tee Sqaured
Langley, B.C, Canada
Joined Jun 2001
4,548 Posts
Converting a Super star select...

Hey everyone.

At last, my first venture into large electrics, and glow-to E-power conversions!

I was very lucky to aquire a Hobbico Super Star select for free! It came fully RTF with all the radio gear. Being an E-powered pilot, i stripped the plane of it's glow power package, intending to convert it to E-power, but i then saw that it would sur elook good with a low wing, so will full confidence, i am adding a new wing mounting system, and it will be a low winger!

I have never built or flown an aircraft this large, so this will be a fun and educational conversion. Being such a large plane, im unsure what power plant to use. I do not ahve the cash for a big Brushless motor and lipo batteries for it. The li-po packs i already own are far to small anyways. Im looking for a Brushed pwoer plant with ether Nimhs or Ni-cads. I would concider a Brushless motor however if it can be had for a reasonable price.

Anyhow, i'll use this thread to document my conversion.

Here are some pictures of my work so far...

1) All the glow bits stripped out
2) lite-ply shelf was moved up over the wing rod, it will serve as a radio tray
and structural strength.
3) wing joiner rod test fitted into the fuse
4) test fitting the wings, looking good so far!
Thomas Manson is offline Find More Posts by Thomas Manson
Last edited by Thomas Manson; Sep 30, 2004 at 10:41 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 30, 2004, 08:53 PM
Tee Sqaured
Langley, B.C, Canada
Joined Jun 2001
4,548 Posts
Some notes from the conversion so far...

Plane seems somehwat heavy, even with all the glow bits removed, however, the airfraim is strong, very strong, which is a big plus. The plane is quite roomy and should handle E-power very will if the gear is placed correctly. THe quailty of the plane is supurb.