Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Sep 28, 2004, 08:41 PM
Joined Sep 2004
11 Posts
Question
Glider project

I'm a freshman aerospace engineering student at Cal Poly in San Luis Obispo, and as part of an introductory AERO class we are to build an R/C glider that meets certain mission requirements. I have quite a bit of experience with R/C aviation, albeit all of it powered (well, at least on the good flights). The mission requirements it has to fulfill are: carry at least 50 pennies, be launched from a standard hi-start, have 2 servos, the maximum wingspan is 4', and the wing is to be made of foam cut with a hotwire. The flight will be scored by multiplying the seconds aloft by the pennies carried, and any flight time longer than 90 seconds will recieve a time of 90.

On to my thoughts, please tell me what ya'll think

The first idea is to build a simple wing with vertical stab like the moth from north county flying machines. The plan would be to load it with about 100 pennies (about 8 ounces).

http://www.northcountyflyingmachines.com/moth.htm

Another consideration was to build a gentle-lady like aircraft with generous polyhedral and rudder/ elevator control, however i'm afraid that the ratio between wingspan and wing chord would present a problem.

Finally, I thought that in order to increase the wing area we could construct a biplane glider (though, admittantly, none of the bipes I've ever flown had great glide ratios, but what aerobat does?) The airfoils would have to be thinner in order to get 2 of them out of a single chunk of foam.

Anyway, help would be appriciated from some people who (unlike me) actually know what they're talking about when it comes to flying somthing without an engine. Oh, and the flight area is pretty flat (for costal california, at least) so we wont be taking advantage of a lot of lift from slopes (maybe some thermals, depending on the day).

Thanks a lot!
CalPolyAero is offline Find More Posts by CalPolyAero