HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 26, 2004, 04:59 PM
USA, MI, Harrison Township
Joined Sep 2000
3,776 Posts
.40 size Ziroli P47 build thread.

I'm going to do this build along thread for my winter project. This is from March 1969 Flying Models designed by Nick Ziroli.

The plane stats are:
.40 size P47 Thunderbolt "near scale"
53" Span
520 Square inch wingspan.
The prototype was powered by a Merco .49 and weighed 5lbs 2 oz.

Mine is going to be powered by:
Mega 22/20/2
MEC 4:1 gearbox
APC 12x7e prop
14 GP3300
Castle Creations Phoenix 45
RyanPSU21 is offline Find More Posts by RyanPSU21
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 26, 2004, 05:04 PM
Joined Sep 2000
3,776 Posts
I am assuming the final weight to be 5 lbs 4oz. I plan on removing most of the plywood and downguaging a lot of the structure, plus no balsa blocks or hollowed out if I do go that route.

Below is my motocalc output for this. This is my first time trying to use motocalc so please point out if it appears I have done something wrong or have an unreasonable coefficient somewhere.

MotOpinion - Ziroli .40 P47
600ft above Sea Level, 29.92inHg, 57F

Motor: Mega AC 22/20/2; 2875rpm/V; 3.37A no-load; 0.012 Ohms.
Battery: Gold Peak GP3300; 14 cells; 3300mAh @ 1.2V; 0.005 Ohms/cell.
Speed Control: Castle Creations Phoenix 45; 0.0026 Ohms; High rate.
Drive System: MEC 4:1 + APC 12x7e; 12x7 (Pconst=1.08; Tconst=1) geared 4:1 (Eff=95%).
Airframe: Ziroli .40 P47; 520sq.in; 84.4oz; 23.4oz/sq.ft; Cd=0.044; Cl=0.4; Clopt=0.53; Clmax=0.99.
Stats: 112 W/lb in; 94 W/lb out; 25mph stall; 34mph opt @ 61% (32:32, 93F); 39mph level @ 69% (26:48, 99F); 1761ft/min @ 35.9; -303ft/min @ -5.8.

Possible Power System Problems:

The full-throttle motor current at the best lift-to-drag ratio airspeed (39.1A) is lower than the motor's maximum efficiency current (58.5A). A higher current level would improve system efficiency.