SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Sep 23, 2004, 10:10 AM
Molded Hotliner Destroyer
Perth, Australia
Joined Jul 2004
1,730 Posts
Toccata 3D EPP Complete Build Thread

Okay, this is my first build thread, my first 3D plane, my first EPP plane and my first overpowered plane, so bear with me and everything hopefully will turn out okay.

You may have already seen Graham Allen's new EPP Toccata in his initial thread and here I will attempt to document the entire build.

I was made aware of the development of this kit around 4 or 5 weeks ago and put my name down for one of the first batch. I was excited to see it turn up last week and dived straight into the build.

My model will be running the AXI 2208/34 (modified to have the shaft poke out the opposite side and use a back mount adaptor plate) with a 9x3.8 APC prop, Jeti Advance 08-3P ESC and E-Tec 3S-700 pack. My radio gear is a JR610 micro receiver with JR NES-371 micro servos. These servos are a little heavier than recommended and as I found out make it difficult to achieve the correct CG due to the stab and rudder servos being mounted in the rear of the fuse.

First up DO's and DON'T's:

DO use light radio equipment - 4 or 5 gram servos are best.
DO use the recommended 3M 77 spray adhesive. I used a no name craft store brand with less than desirable results.
DO take time to double check all the alignments of parts. I glued in the motor mount pointing down without realising and had to shim out the bottom of the motor and re-drill the mounting holes to get a zero thrust line.
DON'T go overboard on the glue. I used the entire tube of supplied glue and then some more! This doesn't help with achieving the correct CG.

Now to the pictures. Below is the essence of this kit - the wing. It is supplied like this, as cut, with the waste to aid in assembly.
Magnum9 is online now Find More Posts by Magnum9
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 23, 2004, 10:15 AM
Perth, Australia
Joined Jul 2004
1,730 Posts