Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Sep 23, 2004, 08:01 AM
Albuquerque NM
Joined Oct 2003
8,475 Posts
Dumas Akula Class Submarine Build

I know this thread should probably be over in "Submarines", but since it's a "scale" boat, and our ponds are so murky that it will spend 98% of it's time on the surface anyway, I'll start here.
Anyhow, the opertunity to review the Akula Class Sub Kit from Dumas came up recently, and since I've never built a Sub before, I thought this might be a pretty cool project to take on -- so here goes.
P. Tritle is offline Find More Posts by P. Tritle
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 23, 2004, 08:14 AM
Albuquerque NM
Joined Oct 2003
8,475 Posts
The Kit

The kit itself is really a pretty simple, straight forward method of construction as I see it. The design is basically of Vac-Formed Styrene plastic, with clear covers on both the equipment and battery compartments.
Power and guidence is provided by a single Dumas High Torque motor and reversing ESC, 2 standard servos controlling the rudder and diving planes, with at least a 3 ch radfio required. The forward diving planes are not controlled, but rather, are manualy trimmed for best diving performance.
The kit is complete with everything needed to run the model except for the radio, motor, ESC, and battery. Also included are 2 plan sheets, one with construction details, the other with external scale details, and a fully illustrated book of building instructions.
Old Sep 23, 2004, 08:24 AM
Albuquerque NM
Joined Oct 2003
8,475 Posts
Building the Boat

I have discovered over time, that the best way to a proach a project with which I am totally unfamiliar, is to start at step 1 and follow the instructions all the way through the project -- which is what I'm doing with this one. So far, so good.