HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 17, 2001, 07:47 AM
Registered User
Haverhill, MA
Joined Jul 2000
303 Posts
Cooling air vents in a Simple 400??

I'm building one now but I don't see any mention of vents to keep the motor and battery cool. What are you folks doing about this? The fuselage will be fairly flimsy so the holes will have to be strategically placed I presume?
ErnieR is offline Find More Posts by ErnieR
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 17, 2001, 12:29 PM
Registered User
Omaha, NE
Joined Apr 2000
566 Posts
I used a plastic spoon to make a scoop right under the motor. It seems to work well.
mumboender is offline Find More Posts by mumboender
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2001, 05:06 PM
AMA 670207
Rudderman98's Avatar
United States, WA, Sumner
Joined Oct 2000
2,775 Posts
I have about a one inch hole directly under the motor and another one inch hole in the aft area right behind the last former to draw out the hot air. works fine.
Perry
Rudderman98 is offline Find More Posts by Rudderman98
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2001, 06:24 PM
Registered User
Canada, NS, Lunenburg
Joined Oct 1999
3,868 Posts
Why bother with cooling?

If you are pulling lots of amps, the setup will get warm but the flight times will be short so there is little likelihood of damage. If you're not pulling many amps, the setup doesn't get hot and the flight times are longer. Either way, you probably don't need cooling.

If you use large capacity cells for long flights at high amps then it's worth considering.

Personally I wouldn't bother. None of my pylon setups from F5D down have any cooling.
DaveSawers is offline Find More Posts by DaveSawers
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2001, 12:49 PM
Registered User
Omaha, NE
Joined Apr 2000
566 Posts
I think of my simple as a sport plane so I do put in the 1600 nimhs. Before cooling it would be blazing hot after a 8-10 minute flight. Now it is just right.
mumboender is offline Find More Posts by mumboender
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2001, 05:33 PM
Super Senior Member
Albuquerque, NM
Joined Feb 2000
3,396 Posts
I had one on the bottom of the fuse behind the prop, and on every landing I scooped up about 10 ounces or more of dirt! We fly in rough areas out here

I eventually sealed it up and have no cooling on it at all. It seems to be hot, but not overly hot (the motor does get hot, but its cool in a minute or two after removing the front hatch.

Greg
Slope Nut is offline Find More Posts by Slope Nut
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2001, 01:32 AM
Registered User
Haverhill, MA
Joined Jul 2000
303 Posts
I'm going with a plastic spoon scoop in the top front hatch and two exit holes on the sides behind the last former. Thanks for the advice.
ErnieR is offline Find More Posts by ErnieR
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2001, 08:20 AM
Registered User
Haverhill, MA
Joined Jul 2000
303 Posts
That's why I'm putting the hole in the top hatch and in the sides. Our field is pretty rough and I would be scraping up dirt and rocks also.
ErnieR is offline Find More Posts by ErnieR
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2001, 03:34 PM
Balsa Kamikaze
Jensst's Avatar
Germany, NRW
Joined Feb 2001
536 Posts
Hey guys,

a few days ago I added two air intakes in the nose and one outlet behind the main wing for cooling air. It cools the motor a LOT but now my Simple makes a whistling noise like a sailplane.

Since I added those intakes I feel like it lost some power in the air, but it might be some problem with my motor. Im not sure about that, the next few flight will show...

And yep, without the cooling intakes and the RS1600 8 cell pack during hot days my Simple gets VERY hot inside!

Jens
Jensst is offline Find More Posts by Jensst
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2001, 07:41 PM
Registered User
poobs's Avatar
oakdale, ny, usa
Joined Aug 2000
3,985 Posts
Sounds like you also increased drag .
poobs is offline Find More Posts by poobs
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Cowl Cooling Vents - In-out Size josefvs Fuel Plane Talk 4 Jul 04, 2006 08:58 PM
FS: Ace Simple 400 in original box stockguru Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Aug 12, 2004 04:49 PM
Why not brushless in a Simple 400 ? Al P High Performance 7 Dec 26, 2002 09:39 PM
Aileron servos in a Simple 400 Gliderguy High Performance 6 Oct 23, 2001 09:38 PM
Astro 020 in Simple 400 Paul Susbauer High Performance 5 Oct 08, 2001 06:40 PM