HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 15, 2004, 12:51 PM
Brunswick, Ohio
Joined Aug 2003
5,736 Posts
Seagull Spacewalker II 40 size flight report

Seagull Spacewalker II

This is my first attempt at a glow plane; I spend a lot of time building smaller electrics and wanted to go with an ARF. The seagull line is not one of the more expensive lines out there so my expectations werenít all that high. I spent $105 for the airframe already covered and needing only minor assembly.

Assembly was very simple with my only snags being that it took me some time to get the tail parallel to the wing before setting it in with epoxy. I also took some time with the cowling as I had never done one before it took some patience to get the cutouts for the exhaust and cylinder head correct.

For power I went with an OS.46 AX motor with an 11x7 prop standard servos and receiver.

I have had the Spacewalker up and down about 20 times now and feel comfortable in saying that it is truly a great flying aircraft. Quality seems very good, I would have expected it to cost much more considering what you get with the kit. Flight is very stable and predictable. Plane looks great in the air and makes low flybys a joy. Inverted flight takes a little forward on the stick to hold it level but is still almost effortless. The big fat wing makes this plane slow down nicely and landings have not been a problem. Today there was a swirling crosswind at the field which made things difficult but other then a few bouncy landings all went well. This was the first time Iíd had any problems setting it down and some or this can be attributed to the wind and some to the uneasy feeling in the pilotís stomach regarding the swirling cross wind. I had to dead stick today in for a cross wind landing and the plane set down perfectly.

Final opinion is that itís a joy to fly and I have yet to see any quality issues.

Jim
BrunswickOH is offline Find More Posts by BrunswickOH
to remove ads between posts