HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 09, 2001, 05:48 AM
DS
Belgium
Joined Sep 2001
301 Posts
can't fly without ailerons

Hello
I am interested in this hobby and as a complete newbie I tried using a simulator (CSM v10 and FMS) with my Graupner MC16 transmitter. Since I didn't actually know better I used the simulator for hours and hours flying on elevator, ailerons and motor.
The first few take offs did not make it in the air, but after a few trials I can now get the plane(s) airborne just as 1-2-3, flying is a piece of cake and landings are ... uhm ... most of the time succesfull.
So, after a few weeks of training I went to a hobby store to look around for a small slowflyer or park flyer type of plane.
To my surprise most of all those 'beginner' airplanes are controlled only by rudder and elevator (and of course motor).
So, I went back home and tried the simulator with only rudder and elevator, no ailerons.
But now, even after weeks of fl.. errr ...trying to fly, I am not able to make nice turns and landing is absolutely impossible without crashing.
Then I just give up and fly on ailerons ... nice turns, start a loop, stop halfway and use the ailerons to get the plane facing upwards again (a roll ?), smooth landing with the plane horizontal to the ground (thanks to ailerons).
When I try to take off, make a turn and land using only rudder and elevator it's crash after crash !

So, why can't you find a 'beginner' plane with ailerons and which doesn't cost to much ($50-$80) ?
What should I do right now ? Still try to master the rudder/elevator only ?

thanks,
DS

DS is offline Find More Posts by DS
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 09, 2001, 06:39 AM
Profiled Interfractionalist
Tacoma,WA USA
Joined Jun 2001
4,044 Posts
Sounds like your a prime candidate for a Zagi.
William A is offline Find More Posts by William A
Old Sep 09, 2001, 07:10 AM
RIP Ric
Marietta, GA
Joined Jun 1999
43,312 Posts