Closed Thread
Old May 22, 2001, 11:58 AM
BANNED!!!
Laurel, MD
Joined May 2001
12,688 Posts
Journey for a beginning R/C addict

Hello all,

I have been lurking on this board for about two weeks, and I figured it was time to come out of hiding. I am new to the RC game, and I have dreamed of flying my own RC since the 3rd grade (some 25 years ago). I was recently rebitten by the bug, when a friend of mine purchased a soarstar. It's an odd looking plane, but it appears to be a good plane to learn on. After watching my friend, who is also new to the game crash two soarstars, and pay almost $700 in the process I was a bit nervous about entering into the rc arena. He asked me to follow him to the Hobby shop, and I watched as he, with the help of some of the people there put his machine back together. So I was no longer worried about the crashing aspect as I have found 5 minute epoxy is the life's blood of foam models. There was however the issue of cost. No way was I going to be able to afforad $700 or even $300. So I decided the soarstar wasn't the plane for me. After much looking around, and lurking on the board I decided on a sky scooter pro. Reasons should be obvious...

1. Comes with everything, including a radio.
2. It's inexpensive. I am going to get everything for $165!! Leaves me $35 for props, and an extra battery.
3. People say it's easy to fly, yet it won't become boring (ala the firebird (xl)).
4. I have received wonderful advice on how to upgrade and make the machine more enjoyable (thanks tic).

So with that I put down my $35 downpayment and I am waiting for the machne to come into the shop. Should be here by Wednesday.