HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 12, 2004, 01:27 PM
Near Muncie, IN.
Joined Aug 2004
152 Posts
Orca build going well....

Hi again all, I posted a while back that I was preparing to build Pat Tritle's Orca. I'm a first time builder and so far have made very good progress. Thanks to Pat's detailed plans which make everything clear as a bell. Hopefully my attatchments will work and I can share the build-up I have so far. Ive been working on the Orca for about 2-3 weeks now.
catfishchaser is offline Find More Posts by catfishchaser
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 12, 2004, 11:53 PM
Albuquerque NM
Joined Oct 2003
8,536 Posts
One thing Mike didn't mention is that he planked the flying bridge with 1/16 X 1/4 planks rather than scribing the sheet balsa as originally designed. A very nice touch, and pretty inovative thinking -- especially for a first timer!
PAT
P. Tritle is offline Find More Posts by P. Tritle
Old Sep 13, 2004, 04:46 AM
Near Muncie, IN.
Joined Aug 2004
152 Posts
Thanks for the added info Pat, I forgot to mention that. I was planing on planking the aft cabin wall in the same manner, but ran short on 1/16"x1/4" planks and cash at the time. But, I may just still do it yet as I'm not completely satisfied with the way the scribing turned out on the aft cabin wall. Due to varying hard and soft spots in the balsa the scribed lines look good in some spots and not so good in others...too much variation in the depth of the lines, not to mention and ugly seam that needs to be hidden.
Old Sep 13, 2004, 06:37 AM
Western Australia
Joined Jun 2004
750 Posts
Mike
you have done very well for a first time builder, nice first project.
Pat, is this from your plans, are you selling them?? EDIT sorry just relised you have them online...

James
_James_ is offline Find More Posts by _James_
Last edited by _James_; Sep 13, 2004 at 06:48 AM.
Old Sep 13, 2004, 08:44 AM
Albuquerque NM
Joined Oct 2003
8,536 Posts