SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Feb 07, 2002, 09:28 AM
Amarillo,Texas
Joined Jan 2002
17 Posts
down thrust, right thrust, Whats the best way to do this?

Howdy all,

I'm new to this only been involved in rc flying for a couple of months now. I currently fly both electric and gas and love both.
I've built 3 planes already and will build several more this year im sure. (cant get enough ). I'm like a sponge when it comes to information but information on setting up down thrust and right thrust of engines(be it electric or gas) is hard to come by. I know why you need and how it works but whats the best way to make sure you have it right? This should be simple enough for you guys. Thanks for any help Ken

( If a kit instructions say 2 degrees down, 2 degrees right I just want to make sure thats where i start.)
hawkeye_abm is offline Find More Posts by hawkeye_abm
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 07, 2002, 09:56 AM
Canada, NS, Lunenburg
Joined Oct 1999
3,867 Posts
Do you mean: How do you build the required amount into a model? or: How do you know when you've got the right amount?

If the first, use a T square and measure the deviation from the fuselage centre line. For every 1 degree offset, the deviation from the centre line 12 inches away from the firewall will be 0.2095 inches.

If the second, the model should have the same trim settings when gliding and when under full power. If it is trimmed for the glide and climbs under power, more downthrust is needed. If it turns left, more right thrust is needed. And vice versa of course.
DaveSawers is offline Find More Posts by DaveSawers
Old Feb 07, 2002, 10:05 AM
Now with more COWBELL!
United States, KY, Lexington
Joined Mar 2001
804 Posts
The best way to see if you've got it right to to fly it!